Posted by: Rachelle Siegrist | May 17, 2010

A Trip to the Amish Community and new Paintings

The small white dots toward the back of this lovely Amish Farm setting are all gourd houses for Purple Martins.

We enjoyed a wonderful visit to an Amish community with friends Fred and Barb this past week. The Delano Community and farm market is located, about an hour and a half from our home, just south of Etowah, TN. Although it’s just minutes from the main road, the beautiful setting of this community seems miles and miles away from everything. Before entering the market, as I stood there looking out surveying this lovely, idyllic setting, I became overwhelmed with a tremendous sense of peace and tranquility. With the absence of noise associated with motor vehicles, tractors, and the likes of other such machinery, the only sounds one heard was the distant occasional clanking of the metal pieces dangling from harnesses worn by the working horses and the beautiful, melodious songs of the Meadowlarks which seemed to linger in the air a bit longer than usual. A group of fit, younger men and boys that were both simply and modestly dressed seemed to be from a different time as they calmly and steadily carried on with the daily tasks of working in a garden. As I continued to look on admiringly, taking this all in, I thought of how very far we have all strayed from the simple life of our ancestors living like this, a mere hundred years ago or even less. Even though there is a lot of hard physical labor involved, this type of basic, simple lifestyle must fill one with a tremendous amount of personal satisfaction and peace at the day’s end, while sitting on ones back porch, watching the sunset, listening to the lovely call of the Meadowlark. The vegetables I purchased at the market were delicious and the strawberries were the best I’ve had since moving from Florida! Perhaps the idea that it was completely and simply done by just a man and his horse had something to do with it.  So, if you live somewhere where you are able to grow a garden . . . . then grow one . .  it tastes good and it makes you feel good! Besides, it will make your great, great grandpa look down from heaven and smile! :-)

"Experienced Deckhand" by Rachelle, measures 3¾ x 4¾ inches.

Fresh off the easels: My miniature painting “Experienced Deckhand” was done from a photo taken during our recent visit to Tarpon Springs, FL this past January. This particular boat was moored at a dock in the quite interesting Greek area known as the Sponge Docks. The variety of textures in this miniature, ranging from the curves in the pile of ropes, the wood siding on the building, to the brightly patterned float and smooth shiny surface of the metal pieces, proved to be quite a joy to paint from beginning to end. Wes’ painting “Favorite Fishing Hole” was done from a photo that was taken when we enjoyed our previous wonderful visit to Yellowstone a couple of years ago. It was amazing to stand and watch all of the busy activity as these birds fished, preened and pretty much enjoyed life from the middle of this fast rushing beautiful river.

"Favorite Fishing Hole" by Wes, measures 3¾ x 6½ inches.

For Mother and Father’s Day, I did a pencil portrait of my mom and dad’s second grandchild, Haydyn Elizabeth, pictured above, to be a companion piece to the one they already have of her older brother, Tyler Jackson. As you can imagine, they were both quite happy! The drawing, “The Expert beggar”, I did from a photo taken during a visit to Colorado, to visit dear friends, Diane and Bob Mason, and also to attend the Society of Animal Artists Show last fall. It will be featured, and available for sale, during the Western Visions Miniatures and More Show at the National Museum of Wildlife Art this fall.

"Haydyn Elizabeth" and "The Expert Beggar" by Rachelle.

Currently on my easel: I’m painting on a miniature of an Indian woman dressed in her beautiful native attire. This miniature painting will also be featured and available for sale in the Western Visions show. I hope to finish her in a couple of weeks and will then share her with you to enjoy.  Our solo show at the West Baton Rouge Museum opened today!  Wes and I are looking forward to our time at the museum next month.
I hope all of you are able to enjoy your flower gardens as much as we have been blessed to thus far this spring!

Until next time ~ Rachelle :-)

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing about your time in the Delano community. Your right it is great to be away from all the noise. I know for me there is great satisfaction in growing my own little garden. I love being able to walk out the door and grab a handful of fresh basil when I need it or cut some fresh chives for my salad. Well if you have never been you need to come see our Amish community here in Pa Dutch country! Our area is very unique and there is nothing like the fertile land of the “Garden Spot”.

    I love your portraits they are beautiful. I especially love The Beggar, he reminds me of my grandmother!

    • Hi Wendy,
      You’re most welcome! yes, isn’t it wonderful to be able to walk out into your garden and get nice fresh things, especially herbs, to eat! I think that Sweet Basil and Rosemary are 2 of my favorites. I would absolutely love to come and see the Amish community there as I’ve heard from several different people how wonderful it is! Hopefully some day, I’ll make it there.
      Thank you for the compliments! You must have a very cute little grandmother :-)
      Rachelle

  2. Lol I’m sorry I should of explained what I meant by the squirrel reminding me of my grandmother. My grandmother is gone now but she use to have a little squirrel that would visit her and it would walk up to her and she would feed it peanuts out of her hand. So when I see squirrels I think of her. Have a great week.

    • Oh, that is so sweet, and what a great memory you have of her! I know that she must have enjoyed feeding it so!

      I have a couple of different birds that I feed from my hand and a dove that comes to eat also. I would love to be able to feed the squirrels by hand too, but we have so many that it would probably be chaos when I walked out the door . . . ha! :-) You have a great week too.
      Rachelle

  3. Did you visit with the people? I know quite a number of them as I used to live in such a community at Decatur TN, where these orginated.

    • Hi Katie,
      No, unfortunately I didn’t have a chance to, other than talking with the nice gentleman that checked us out at the cash register. I’m sure it was quite pleasant living in their community. It was certainly very pleasant visiting there.
      Rachelle :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

