Miniature Paintings in Progress

        Happy new year! I rang in the new year recovering from a very bad stomach virus that I came down with Christmas night. Not the most fun way to spend the holidays, so I certainly don’t recommend it. Needless to say we haven’t been doing too much this year except painting and packaging and shipping out books. Moreover, even though it was much needed, the weather has been a bit on the dreary side with rain & gray skies most days of the week. This type of weather does encourage a lot of painting, however, I am very much looking forward to going to Florida this Wednesday, as I need to recharge my “sunshine batteries”. We will be going to the Dunedin area first to assist with the setting up of the MASF show , and attending the opening, awards brunch and artist party. It’s always a great weekend!

My latest miniature portrait painting in progress, 2 ½ x 2 ½ inches.
My latest miniature portrait painting in progress, which measures, 2 ½ x 2 ½ inches.

        After we demonstrate at the show at the Dunedin fine Art Center on Monday, we’ll head over to Okeechobee where my family lives. While there, we’ll have fun spoiling my little nephew Tyler I’m sure. We’re also planning a day trip to a state park with the entire family one day. That’s always a wonderful way to just have fun with everyone and get great reference for future miniature paintings. We’re also looking forward to having lunch with our very dear friend and fellow artist, Janet Heaton.

Wes’s miniature painting in progress featuring our good friend, Lee Cable, doing a plein air portrait. 2 ½ x 3 ½
Wes’s miniature painting in progress featuring our good friend, Lee Cable, doing a plein air portrait, 2 ½ x 3 ½ inches.

        Meanwhile, we continue to enjoy painting. My painting is being rendered from a photo taken at a artist photo shoot in Dubois,WY.  Wes’ painting is also from a photo taken at the same time and features one of our dear artist friends, Lee Cable, painting a plein air portrait, making it extra special. Well, I do hope the new year is going well for you all, and we are looking forward to seeing some of you at the show!

Until next time ~   Rachelle   🙂

2 thoughts on “Miniature Paintings in Progress

  1. Hi Rachelle, It’s really interesting to see two paintings in progress from each of you, and what a great idea of Wes’s to do a painting within a painting as a mini—at first I thought it was a photo it looked so real.

    Can’t wait to see both of you! Thanks for adding my link; have added you on my blog too.

  2. Hi Mona,
    It is fun to see paintings in progress isn’t it. Yes, we were thinking of a miniature painting of him, when we took the photo of our friend painting.
    We are looking forward to seeing you as well! Thanks so much for adding my link to your blog also.

    Hugs 🙂
    Rachelle

Leave a Reply

