A visit from Wes’ family

Our sister-n-law, Karen and I enjoy all of the beautiful Tall Phlox.
Our sister-n-law, Karen and I enjoy all of the beautiful Tall Phlox.

        We enjoyed a really nice visit with Wes’ parents, Jeanie and George and our sister-n-law Karen, this past week. I have many wonderful photos that I want to share with you, so I’m keeping the written part to a minimum, and will do a photo journal of this past week’s beautiful hikes.

All of us enjoying a beautiful picnic in Cade's Cove and Karen and I in front of White Oak Sinks Falls in the Smokies.
All of us enjoying a beautiful picnic in Cade's Cove and Karen and I in front of White Oak Sinks Falls in the Smokies.

        It was a beautiful day for a picnic and we enjoyed great weather as we drove around the loop in Cades Cove, in the Great Smoky Mountains. We also enjoyed taking time to walk up to some of the historical cabins. There were sightings of  White Tailed Deer, Turkey, and a momma Black Bear and her offspring, among several bird species.

All of us in front of Mingus Falls, and standing in the midst of big rocks off of the Middle Prong trail, that's just a few minutes from our house.
All of us in front of Mingus Falls, and standing in the midst of big rocks off of the Middle Prong trail, that's just a few minutes from our house.
Wes showing off his amazing balancing skills, and Karen and I cooling off and cutting up in the stream.
Wes showing off his amazing balancing skills, and Karen and I cooling off and cutting up in the stream.
Us at the Mcclung Museum, and Bandit digging up our plants again.
Us at the Mcclung Museum, and Bandit digging up our plants again.

        We enjoyed a visit to the Knoxville Museum of Art and the Mcclung Museum, both in Knoxville. The above photo is in the Mcclung Museum with us standing in front of the “Birds of the Smokies” exhibition, featuring the works of artists: Audubon, Catesby and Wilson. We were treated to the viewing of a few of the miniature doll house rooms from the Thorne collection at the KMA. . . a real treat for us miniature artists!

Me and George on a big rock on the Middle Prong trail in the Smokies.
Me and George on a big rock on the Middle Prong trail in the Smokies.

       One of the highlights of the week was an evening spent in the secret garden. While watching Ms. Shrew continually transporting her pecans, at a high rate of speed, we were treated to a visit from Peedeepeeps (Carolina Wren) enjoying his little pecan crunchies. Within seconds of Peedeepeeps leaving, Dovecakes(Morning Dove) came and ate some of the leftover pecan crunchies while we sat very still and quietly admired the many beautiful iridescent colors in its plumage. After eating and getting a drink, it gave us a beautiful little concert with the hallowing sound of its call. Other visitors came with Ms. Shrew continuing to collect her treats through our duration there. Needless to say, Jeanie and Karen were very taken with the wonderful encounters that secret garden sometimes offers.

Sister-n-law karen, and I by the Middle Prong River, enjoying the beautiful, rushing sounds of the waterfall.
Sister-n-law karen, and I by the Middle Prong River, enjoying the beautiful, rushing sounds of the waterfall.

It was a very good week and many happy and wonderful memories were made. Now it’s back to painting for Wes and I.

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

4 thoughts on “A visit from Wes’ family

  1. mary jansen

    Rachelle, you live in such a beautiful paradise! I’m envious as I long for the outdoors every day! Riverside, where I live, is a beautiful town designed by Olmstead and Vaux, (they designed Central Park in N.Y) but it’s not the wilds. It is more like a well maintained park, (could be worse, I know…so I count my blessings!)I grew up on the west coast and backpacked in my beloved Yosemite. You would get a real kick out of the dipper bird in the mountains that flies in and out of waterfalls! I look forward to your next painting posting as I know it will reflect some of that fairyland in which you live!

  2. Hi Mary,
    We tend to think so! It’s too bad that they don’t leave “untouched” areas in parks like yours. Oh, Yosemite. . . we hope to be able to go there someday. It’s gorgeous in all of the photos I’ve seen of it. What great memories you must have from backpacking there! We enjoyed watching the Dipper bird when we were in Yellowstone. I did a painting of it. They are absolutely amazing! I’ll be finishing a still life today and Wes just finished a painting of our yard. I hope to post them both this next week.
    Rachelle 🙂

  3. Rachelle, I’ve created a new blog award for miniature painters, and have awarded it to you, so go pick it up on my blog and see the specifics when you have a chance (maybe you can pass it to Wes and 2 others!)

    It’s really fun seeing White Oak Sinks after having seen Wes’s painting of it. I, too, love the song of the morning doves, and I can get a close audio/visual when they land on my fire escape in Brooklyn.

    1. Hi Mona,
      Thanks so much for the award! I will go and check it out.
      Yea, it’s pretty neat to see the places where our paintings have come from and especially at different times of the year. That’s great that you get to enjoy the song of the Morning Doves and seeing them up close and personal as well. Isn’t their song just wonderful!
      Rachelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

