Flowers. . . Flowers Everywhere

"Still Life With Granny's Pheasant" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 x 3 3/4 inches, and is shown with a transparent penny for scale.
"Still Life With Granny's Pheasant" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 x 3 3/4 inches, and is shown with a transparent penny for scale.

In the midst of enjoying the beautiful weather we had been having, I finished my still life miniature, “Still Life With Granny’s Pheasant”. The pheasant statue belonged to my Granny and use to sit on a beautiful gold shelf with a mirror behind, that hung above the couch in her formal living room. It was this same room that served as the stage for my painting “Mother’s Love”, painted many years ago. Granny’s piano was also in this room where she and I spent many cherished hours singing, while I played the piano. Needless to say it represents lots of wonderful and treasured memories for me. Many happy thoughts rolled through my mind as I painted this piece. The antique crock in the painting belonged to Wes’ family. We now enjoy owning both pieces.

Azelas capture your attention in our front yard.
Azaleas capture your attention in our front yard.
The Piliated Woodpecker searches for yummy treats on a log in the yard.
The Pileated Woodpecker searches for yummy treats on a log in the yard.

As the Creeping Phlox blooms quickly fade, the Azaleas are stealing the show with their beautiful blooms in assorted colors, mainly pinks! Moreover, while the last remaining petals of the Dogwoods are falling, the Tulip Poplars are taking the spotlight with their subtle, but amazing blooms featuring yellow, lime green and orange. Our Bearded Irises are treating us to daily surprises with their assortment of blooms. It’s a joy to be able to closely watch the Pileated Woodpecker as he searches the many rotten logs in our yard for tasty delicacies, while occasionally giving out his amazing, boisterous call.

Mr. Blues on one of his lookout posts near the nest box.
Mr. Blues on one of his lookout posts near the nest box.

It’s so wonderful to have the Bluebirds nesting in the box by our garden again this year. I believe Mrs. Blue is a perfectionist as she has spent almost two weeks now building her nest, while Mr. Blue sits patiently by and cheers her on with his beautiful songs and chatters of encouragement. I love watching them talk with each other since precious wing movements are often incorporated into the conversation. Mommy Dovecakes is also nesting in our yard in a Cedar tree by our walking path. She patiently lets us have a quick look at her on our daily walks around the garden. While looking at her sitting quietly on her nest, it temporarily whisks you to another world where cares seem to drift away.

Mommy Dovecakes on her nest by the walking path.
Mommy Dovecakes on her nest by the walking path.
Daddy Dovecakes enjoys the sun on the back deck, while Mommy is on her nest.
Daddy Dovecakes enjoys the sun on the back deck, while Mommy is on her nest.

We have already been enjoying watching one of the baby Squirrels. The one in the photo below, we named Bob as he sports a bobbed tail. Not really sure how it happened, but he’s a cuttie and gets to enjoy his own little treats of sunflower seeds on the back porch.

Baby Bob enjoying his own special pile of sunflower seeds.
Baby Bob enjoying his own special pile of sunflower seeds.

Well, the rains started about two days ago and have been almost a constant drizzle and are forecast to continue through much of this week. Really needing the rain here in East Tennessee, it has been a blessing and is making everything grow so beautifully.  I must admit however, I do look forward to once again enjoying the sunshine.

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

9 thoughts on “Flowers. . . Flowers Everywhere

  1. mary jansen

    Ah…another cyber walk through your magical surroundings! I hope you don’t think I’m a crazed new groupie at your site! Hm, Maybe I am but I get such a kick out of your beautiful world and equally amazing paintings! Congratulations at the Parklane Show! I think that particular painting, (the mossy waterfall) is perhaps my favorite of yours! I just want to sit there on one of those mossy rocks and listen to the birdsong! Perfect peace!

    1. Hi Mary,
      It makes it so much more exciting to post on my blog when I know that there are people enjoying it so! I love sharing the photos of our beautiful surroundings. I really like your pieces in the Parklane show and congratulations on your award, as I especially love that piece! We just went on a short hike yesterday morning that followed along side of a stream the entire way. It was particularly beautiful as we’ve just received a lot of rain, so the water was really rushing and the moss was fabulous looking. I had to continually stop and “pet” the moss. . . as it’s most amazing after a nice rain!
      Rachelle 🙂

  2. mary jansen

    I just stumbled across Wes’ paintings in the Parklane Show, (don’t know how I missed them before). They are also truly amazing! Those bison especially are breathtaking…please tell him so!

    1. Hi Mary,
      Yes. . . I am a sister “moss petter”! I can’t resist! That’s why it takes us longer to do hikes after a nice rain, as all of the moss beckons me to pet it. I hope to put a photo of our neighbor’s amazing moss bed on my next blog post that I think you will like.
      I’ll pass the compliments on to Wes.
      Rachelle 🙂

  3. Once again, a post to “drool” over. I do so envy you guys your yard and gardens. I used to have huge gardens, an acreage, and loads of wildlife too. Miss them terribly. But I’m not quite as envious today- I had a great day of wildlife watching on Wed.! Ducklings galore!
    Your pieces are so wonderful, always- but this one especially “speaks”- perhaps those memories are shining through! Absolutely breathtaking- and this from a “non-stilllife” person!
    You both are phenomenal painters, and lovely people to top it off! What a combo! VBG

    1. Hi Carol,
      . . . I guess that means you enjoyed the photos 🙂 . . .Great!
      Glad to hear that you had a wonderful day of wildlife watching! Ducklings galore sounds like lots of precious fun! That’s something we don’t get to see much of, since most of our viewing is by the river, which moves very swiftly, especially after all of our recent rain.
      Thanks so much for your kind compliments. I had so much fun doing that piece. I’m working on another still life at present, as well as a portrait. Glad I could bring a smile to your face 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

