New Paintings and More Yew Dell Garden Photos.

"Chesapeake Bay" by Wes, and "My Pink Peony" by Rachelle, each measures 1 1/4 inches.
"Chesapeake Bay" by Wes, and "My Pink Peony" by Rachelle, each measures 1 1/4 inches.

        The past week, back at home, has been spent busily catching up and painting. Today, we got our summer newsletters printed and will work on assembling and sending them out in the next couple of days. We have been enjoying beautiful weather here, with the lows being in the 50’s and low 60’s at night. Rain showers are visiting often and helping to keep our watering time to a minimum. The day lilies are in full bloom throughout our gardens at present, filling the yard with assorted colors. The paintings shown above, are two of our recent pieces.  The seascape was done from a photo taken in Annapolis, MD on the way to the Waterfowl Festival, and the still life features one of my Peonies out of our gardens.

Dovecakes and I enjoying each others company, while she also enjoys eating her sunflower treats.
Dovecakes and I enjoying each others company, while she also enjoys eating her sunflower treats.

        Dovecakes is quite happy that I’m once again home and feeding her shelled sunflowers throughout the day. When she sees me sitting in my rocking chair, she flies down, walks over, and patiently waits for me to start dishing it out. She eats until she’s sure that another seed just can’t be packed in, then after a thankful look of the eye, she gracefully flies off.

The historical castle style home at Yew Dell Gardens.
The historical castle style home at Yew Dell Gardens.

        One of the highlights from our recent visit to IN, was certainly the afternoon spent at the beautiful Yew Dell Gardens. This being so, I thought I would share a few more photos of the wonderful experience. When the gardens were first being created, there were very few trees or anything else on the acreage. Many years of planting and nurturing, have given way to the beautiful gardens that are seen and enjoyed today. The house is simply beautiful and blends quite gracefully with the surrounding themed gardens.

A beautiful egg sculpture amongst a sunlight section of the gardens.
A beautiful egg sculpture amongst a sunlight section of the gardens.

        Trails meandered and twisted through the carefully planned gardens, with each section showcasing its own variety of flowers and evergreens. The air was alive, filled with butterflies flitting this way and that way, all the while searching for the next delightful nectar treat. Being a lover of butterflies, this is always a true joy to see! The above photo is of one of my many favorite sculptures featured throughout the gardens. It reminded me of a safe, hidden place that had been cut away in two, revealing the treasures it hid inside, which appeared to be dinosaur eggs nestled inside some carefully placed pieces of grass. At least this is what I imagined it to be     🙂

The "Tree people" towering against a blue sky.
The "Tree people" towering against a blue sky.

        It was delightful to see and admire a variety of evergreens playing such a stately part in the gardens. Some of my favorite, were the trees that appeared to be great tree people, moving slowly across a vast section of an open area in the forest. Being in their midst, I could almost feel the ground shake, as it seemed they were taking giant steps in whatever direction they were going. In a way they seemed like ancient beings with stories to share of events they’ve witnessed through the years, if one only had time to sit and listen. Another of my personal favorites was one of the evergreens that gave the appearance of completely softness. As it is with moss, I couldn’t pass a single one of these lovely trees without stopping to run my hands slowly across its amazingly soft branches.

One of the many beautifully soft trees.
One of the many beautifully soft trees.

        Another of my favorite sculptures, was one of a giant head, with the eyes appearing as if it were looking somewhere far off trying to see something of great importance, perhaps the arrival of a long lost aquaintance. Wes was very nice and obliging to kindly stand behind this behemoth head to show the scale. . . . . not to mention it also made for a cute photo 🙂

Wes coming out of the great big head at Yew dell Gardens.
Wes coming out of the great big head at Yew Dell Gardens.

This Tuesday is our nineteenth wedding anniversary, so we’re hoping to celebrate it with a hike on Wednesday. The rest of the time will be spent painting and on business related activities. I hope to have several beautiful photos from our hike to share with you next week, as well as a couple of new miniature paintings!
Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

4 thoughts on “New Paintings and More Yew Dell Garden Photos.

  1. don lawler

    I loved your pictures and comments on my stone sculptures at Yew Dell gardens. I did the “egg” sculpture, 2 big hands and head that you featured. Also, my wife did the bronze baby elephant that you might have seen at the L-ville zoo. We loved Wes’ painting of their real baby elephant. In fact, we loved all of your miniatures! We are a husband and wife art team who live next to a wildlife area (and we feed the critters, too). You can see more of our stuff on our blogs http://restlessrocks.blogspot.com and http://rockpaperscissorsnclay.blogspot.com. Also, my birthday is June 15 – so, happy birthdays to us!

  2. Hi Don,
    So neat to hear from you! How coincidental that the four Pieces I featured on my blog as my favorites, were all yours! We loved all of your cool benches too, and enjoyed sitting in a couple that were perfectly in the shade. I’m glad that you liked my commentaries on them 🙂 What a beautiful setting for them. We haven’t been to the Louisville zoo since little Scotty was just born, so we haven’t seen your wife’s sculpture yet. I’m sure we will on a future visit to see Wes’ family. Thanks for the compliments on our work. We really enjoyed visiting your blog. Your work is simply awesome! I’m glad to know that you both are fellow critter feeders as well 🙂
    Hope you had a nice B-day too!
    Rachelle 🙂

  3. I think I should call you ‘The Prolific Pair’ Two lovely little paintings – Chesapeake Bay and My Pink Peony – quite exquisite. Hey Wes I’ve just been given a copy of the 1953 catalogue of the RMS. Would you like me to send it to you? I haven’t done too much painting lately – no commisions at present, Henley Regatta – and I haven’t been feeling too well. I go for a pelvic scan tomorrow so maybe I’ll find out what’s wrong.x

    1. Hi Bill,
      That’s a cute name…I like it! Thanks so much for the compliment on our two newest pieces. Wes is quite excited about the RMS catalogue. Yes, that would be great if you could send it. I’m very sorry to hear that you’re still not feeling well… I hope all will be well and you’ll back to full swing and painting again soon!
      Love and Hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

