Our Annual Painting Workshop.

"My Bride" by Wes, measures 2 3/4 inches.
"My Bride" by Wes, measures 2 3/4 inches.

        My oh my how time flies. Another year has already passed and it was time once again for our annual painting workshop in the basement. Wes and I were able to get quite a bit of painting done, so I’m sharing a couple of our pieces with you. The above portrait miniature, titled “My Bride”, was done by Wes from one of our wedding photos. As you can well imagine, this piece is very precious to me since Wes painted it, and is a beautiful symbol of our nineteenth anniversary. It will be included in our show “Exquisite Miniatures” that will open at the R.W. Norton Gallery next spring.

thefamilyouting1
"The Family Outing" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 inches.

        “The Family Outing” was done from a photo and experience we had this past spring, while a friend was visiting and we were walking by the Little River, here in Townsend. This was one of two sets of Canada Geese parents with their three precious little Goslings. The parents swam to where we were standing, whereupon they exited the river and paraded their young in front of us, as if to show them off. As you can well imagine, we greatly enjoyed the show and were very impressed with their beautiful families. I enjoyed trying to capture the tenderness of the moment in time and the softness of the babies.

"Afternoon Light in the Hammock" by Wes measures 2 1/2 by 3 1/2 inches.
"Afternoon Light in theHammock" by Wes measures 2 1/2 by 3 1/2 inches.

        Wes’s miniature “Afternoon Light in the Hammock” was painted from a photo that was taken at Highlands Hammock during a recent visit to Florida this past January. Highlands Hammock State Park is one of my favorite places, and I have been going there since I was a very little girl with my family! Even with serious damage from a couple of major hurricanes a few years back, it remains a beautiful location, especially if you like swamps, Alligators and Cypress Hammocks, and I do! This gorgeous Egret was on one of our favorite trails in the park and he was patiently waiting to spot and catch his next meal. Although Wes didn’t include it in the painting, there was a beautiful Alligator about four to five feet away enjoying the warm sun   🙂

L to R; Me, Tricia, Woody and Fred all painting away.
L to R; Me, Tricia, Woody and Fred all painting away.

       This past week was filled with conversation, stories and laughter as time quickly passed, while we all painted away. We enjoyed daily lunches on our screen porch, while watching the birds and critters outside all coming to enjoy and eat their peanut crunchies. The weather was nice and a bit cooler than normal for this time of year, so that added to the pleasant outdoor dining experience. Friday brought the workshop to a close and we all enjoyed a nice supper at our local Pizza Hut afterwards.

Woody, myself, Fred and Tricia, along with wes taking the photo, all enjoying taco day.
Woody, myself, Fred and Tricia, along with Wes taking the photo, all enjoying taco day.

        Yesterday, we drove over to Gatlinburg to meet friends for brunch. We had a wonderful visit with them, filled with much laughter! After fighting our way through the crowds for a short while afterwards, Wes and I were very eager to return to our quiet, peaceful little house and yard here in Townsend.

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

10 thoughts on “Our Annual Painting Workshop.

  1. Congratulations both on your anniversary! As always your work is simply gorgeous and I also loved seeing your beautiful wrens – I must find out the difference between them and ours. Its interesting you call them Peedeepeeps, as here in Orkney ‘peedie’ is a local word for small and I’ve never heard it anywhere else!

    The workshop sounds like a lot of fun!

    1. Hi Tracy,
      Thank you, and thanks for the compliment on our new works. I think our Carolina Wrens are simply beautiful as well, and so very full of personality! I gave them the name “Peedeepeeps”, because that sounds like what they are saying to me when asking for peanut crunchie handouts. That’s quite interesting that your word for small there is ‘peedie’. . . I like it! Sometimes, it is a very small world 🙂
      Yes, the workshop was fun.
      Rachelle 🙂

  2. You have some of my favorite work to date. My daughter and I paint like this together when we have time.

    It is good to see the fun you all are having.

    As a Floridian, its good to see you enjoy the scenery, now if we can just keep the storms away and have it pristine… I am all for that !

    Thank you for taking the time you share your progress and your talents. It is inspiring.
    Cheers
    Tracy

    1. Hi Tracy,
      I’m so glad that you enjoy our work! I’ll bet you and your daughter really enjoy your time painting together. . . . what a great thing!
      Being born and raised in Florida, I grew up loving and admiring all of its natural beauty, and it has so much to offer! My family still lives there, and they also hope that the storms will stay away.
      I’m happy to have been in some way inspiring, as I love sharing interesting bits of our lives.
      Rachelle 🙂

  3. Gorgeous- all of them. I can imagine how precious the portrait must be.
    Boy would I love to have been able to attend your painting get-together! I wish I had someone close to me to paint with. Tried to get my kids/grandkids interested- no luck thus far. Well, a bit, but the grandkids are just too busy for painting much with Nana! The 4 yr. old is showing promise tho… VBG
    Always enjoy your blog- it’s so interesting, and fun to read and look at.

    1. Hi Carol,
      Thank you very much 🙂
      It would be so great if once in awhile all of the miniature artists could get together to paint, share ideas, techniques, etc. It would be very inspiring!
      I always loved and treasured the times, while growing up, that my Granny would get out her oil paints and we would paint together for the day, after my spending the night. Those memories are the best!! Your grandkids just don’t know of the joys and undiscovered treasures they are missing… perhaps the interest on your grandkids parts will come in time 🙂 So glad you enjoyed the blog.
      Rachelle

  4. Great minis, all three. “Afternoon Light in the Hammock” is an example of what a great grasp Wes has on how to handle a foreground and background setting around an animal/bird.

    The idea of an annual painting workshop sounds fun and motivating. Can you describe in more detail how you organize this? Do you invite colleagues to travel to your house or are they living local to you? How many days does it last?

    My studio is very small, but I’m thinking it would be fun to try something like this with some of my Brooklyn or Long Island art friends at some point, either in one of our homes or at a local center.

    1. Hi Mona,
      Thanks so much, and I’ll pass the compliment on to Wes. Regarding the workshop, It’s usually just a few of our local artist friends. a couple of years, we had an artist join us from Florida. It is fun, but also a lot of work for us including lunch preparation, which I mainly do. It lasts for four to five days. This was either the eighth or ninth time we’ve hosted it in our large basement.
      Rachelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

