Upcoming Solo Museum Exhibitions of Our Miniature Paintings

"Grandpa Jackson" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 inches.
"Grandpa Jackson" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 inches.

        My latest miniature portrait painting titled, “Grandpa Jackson”, was done from a photo I took of my very dear and much loved Grandpa many years ago, while we were taking a short break from fishing. He was one of my best buddies and taught me many of life’s greatest lessons. He also taught me how to do wood working among other things like building stud walls and how to frame windows. For awhile I was even quite proud to be able to drive a nail in two hammer hits, and contrary to what Wes says they were long nails! I was always as proud as a peach when grandpa would tell someone, “This is my number one granddaughter”! As one can well imagine it was a great honor and a joy for me to paint my late grandpa 🙂

"The California Coast" by Wes, measures 2 1/2 X 3 1/2 inches".
"The California Coast" by Wes, measures 2 1/2 X 3 1/2 inches".

        Wes’ miniature painting “The California Coast”, was painted from a photo taken during a wonderful trip we took a year ago last spring, to southern California. The location is in the beautiful La Jolla Cove and was simply splendid with all of the gorgeous wildflowers! The many species of birds were quite happy to call this lovely spot home.

Jeanie, George and I on top of Huckleberry Bald.
Jeanie, George and I on top of Huckleberry Bald.

        The last day of Wes’ parents visit, we took a drive along the beautiful Cherohala Skyway and enjoyed a couple of hikes. My favorite was one in which you’re walking along a tree lined road for quite a distance, and then suddenly the woods opens up to a grassy field. When you first reach it, all you see is a sea of golden-colored grasses swaying to and fro in the breeze where it meets a seamlessly endless blue sky! As you continue up the small rise, your eyes are treated to a natural feast as the endless sea of grass gives way to a spectacular view of the many layers of mountain ranges in the distance. At this point I felt as if I were on top of the world with almost a 360 degree view all around. The weather was also gorgeous with plenty of sunshine and blue skies, topped with a splendid breeze, which made it all the better!!

 Jeanie and I on the beautiful Huckleberry Bald.
Jeanie and I on the beautiful Huckleberry Bald.

        As you can see in the above photo, it was a bit on the cool side the day of our hike. Although I had on a long sleeved shirt, a sweater, insulated vest and gloves, I still did not succumb to long pants . . . . it must be a Florida thing, as I’m not quite ready to give up summer quite yet 🙂

Heritage Center Concert in Townsend, Tennessee.
Heritage Center Concert in Townsend, Tennessee.

        We enjoyed another wonderful concert at our local Heritage center during Wes’ parents visit as well. It was a great and  chilly evening as we listened to “rockabilly” music played by three very talented musicians!

Our book, "The World of Nature in Miniature".

        We’re really happy to announce that we now have two more solo museum exhibitions scheduled that will be featuring our miniature paintings! These will be different from our upcoming solo show at the R.W. Norton Art Gallery since these paintings will feature only our wildlife subjects. Wes and I are really looking forward to spending a week in Louisiana to attend the shows in Shreveport and Baton Rouge.
The World of Nature in Miniature: Paintings by Wes and Rachelle Siegrist
Produced by David J. Wagner, L.L.C.
David J. Wagner, Ph.D., Curator/Tour Director

Premiere:
The West Baton Rouge Museum, Port Allen, LA, Sunday, May 16 through Saturday, July 31, 2010

Tour Venues:
Sept. 1 – Nov. 15, 2010: Open/Pending
December 11, 2010 – March 13, 2011: Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Tucson, AZ

This exhibition will feature 50 of the Siegrists’ miniature paintings of wildlife drawn from their book The World of Nature in Miniature: Paintings by Wes and Rachelle Siegrist.

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

12 thoughts on “Upcoming Solo Museum Exhibitions of Our Miniature Paintings

  1. Congratulations on your solo exhibitions! I’ve never been to Louisiana – It’s one of those states I really hope exists, but I’m still not convinced it does.

    The Bald IS beautiful. Living in VA though, as you walked away from it, hopefully there were cries of “Check for ticks!”

    Wes’s La Jolla painting is amazing. My husband and son visited there this summer and brought back a bunch of paintings of seals. I may paint from one of those yet.

    Your grandpa was a very handsome man, and you did him proud Rachelle!

    1. Hi Deb,
      Thanks so much for the congrats! We’ve not been to Louisiana yet either, but are looking very much forward to going next spring. I’m sure we’ll take lots of photos and I’ll be posting some on my blog.
      Isn’t that bald gorgeous! Actually we forgot to check for ticks as we were all starving and only thought of eating supper. Ticks aren’t quite as bad here, and they’ve already had frost up there, so I think we were okay . . . hopefully!
      I’ll certainly pass the compliment onto Wes. Yes, I too think my grandpa was a very handsome man! Glad you like the painting of him 🙂
      Rachelle

  2. Rachelle,

    Throughout this year, so many of your miniatures have seemed like award winners to me. I hope it’s going to be one of your best years ever this year!

    I can see how much fun you had painting your granddad, and I’m sure he is watching you in spirit and getting a super charge out of how you did his mini too.

    1. Hi Mona,

      Thanks so much, I’m glad that you’ve liked them. I too hope it will be one of our best years yet, as that would be really nice!

      It was truly a delight to paint my grandpa, as he represents so many happy memories for me! yes . . I think he would be quite proud! I’m not selling that one, it’s for me to enjoy 🙂

      Rachelle 🙂

  3. That’s super news about your shows, both. Would love to get along to one of them in person. That is a really touching portrait of your grandad Rachelle, beautifully done (as always). Its hard to beleive but Wes’s California Coast looks very familiar from Scotland :))

    1. Yes, we sure think so and are very excited about them! It would be great if you could make it to one.
      Thank you for the kind compliment on grandpa’s painting!
      Wow . . . Scotland must be beautiful, and surely has a lot less people than California!! That makes it even better!

      Rachelle 🙂

  4. As always- more beautiful paintings. It doesn’t seem to matter what you 2 paint- they are all breath-taking. And a HUGE congratulations on your upcoming shows. Way to go. 🙂 Wish I could come to LA. I love the people down there. My online nickname was “blondecajunyankee”- Cajuns are some of my best friends. They are wonderful people- hope you get to meet some- some of their folkways would make great painting subjects and you could do them proud.

    1. Hi Carol,
      Thank you very much! Yes, we are very excited and feel quite blessed to have these museum shows coming up! I am very excited about visiting Louisiana, since I think it will be quite a bit like the area in south FL (Okeechobee) where I grew up. I’m looking forward to hopefully seeing some alligators there . . . I love them! I’m sure the people are very nice and hopefully we’ll get to spend some time with the locals while we’re there. I’ll bet there will be an abundance of great subject matter for future miniature paintings there!

      Rachelle 🙂

  5. Lovely work Rachelle and Wes, and a nice story to go with them. You know your Grandpa is smiling on you still. A Big Congratulations on your shows! Sounds like a great year for you two. That is so wonderful for you both and for miniature art!! I wish I could go see. While you are in LA, be sure to have some crawdaddies. YUM, might be good subject matter to paint too!:)

    1. Hi Barbara,
      Thank you so much, and Im so glad you enjoyed the story. Yes, I believe Grandpa smiles on me a lot, from heaven.
      It’s certainly looking like a really nice and exciting year for us. Yes . . .I think it is a wonderful thing for the world of miniature art! I too wish you could see the shows. I might just stick with painting the crawdaddies and take your word for the “YUM” part . . . HA! 🙂

      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

