The Sun, and My Family, are Coming

Our beautiful Cardinal in the Burning Bush.
Our beautiful Cardinal in the Burning Bush.

        As I sat one morning this past week, eating my breakfast and watching the falling rain outside the dining room window, I thought I could faintly hear a bird singing. Surprised at this possible occurrence with the present weather conditions, I listened more closely and decided that it was indeed a bird softly singing and a Cardinal at that. Listening more intently, I realized that I could actually make out what it was singing, and it went something like this, “I’m singing in the rain . . . just singing in the rain . . . since there isn’t any sunshine . . . I’m singing in the rain” Haha! I’ve decided one must find humor in weather like this to keep from going stir crazy.

Chippy looking precious and waiting for handouts.
Chippy looking precious and waiting for handouts.

        I know that I’ve shared photos of our Chippy before, but this one was just so precious with her looking immensely cute and waiting patiently for handouts. At times her cheeks are so fully packed upon leaving our top deck that I expect to see cheeks dragging the ground and a little rump up in the air as surely the front end must certainly be heavier than the back end! Such a sight to see indeed! They now have figured out to come when I’m feeding Dovecakes and I will toss them nice fresh peanuts which they promptly eat right up! Happily, today I had a little Titmouse join in on Dovecakes’ feast. The newcomer, Vole, that now lives in secret garden is continuing to enjoy her peanut treats in between rain showers. Excitedly, the weather forecast brings wonderful news for us this next week. After much rain and gray skies, it’s suppose to be mostly sunny and beautiful for several days!! This is great timing since all of my family are arriving this evening for a week long visit.

"A Change of Heart" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 X 2 3/4 inches.
"A Change of Heart" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 X 2 3/4 inches.

        My miniature painting shown above, was done from a photo we took while enjoying a ride on Wes’ brother, Greg’s boat, one day this past summer in southern Indiana. I thought it would make a great little miniature and particularly loved the bit of humor in the setting. For a little history on the subject, I was born and raised in the deep-south and Wes was born and raised in the North. As you may well suspect there’s always been a bit of humor pertaining to our coming from opposite sides of the Mason Dixon line. This being said, I just couldn’t resist this miniature, what with that name on the boat and the fact that it was being moored in Indiana. The ducks obviously living on the back and the “for sale” sign led to the title, which Wes gets the credit for coming up with, “A Change of Heart”. Humor is good, so one must find something in life to laugh about.
Well, we’re all ready for my family to arrive later this evening and are looking forward to spending a wonderful week with them! I will have photos to share from our adventures next post, especially of my nephew Tyler!

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Sun, and My Family, are Coming

  1. Fun photos of your critters. We have a squirrel friend who comes to our door for handouts, even in winter with snow on the ground. We call her Chuckanut. I like the new work, Rachelle. Cute, I wonder if the ducks are an option with the boat? Have a great time with your family!

    1. Hi Barbara,
      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed them. What a great name for your squirrel! I don’t know if they are or not, but I would like them to be if I was buying the boat. Yes, I had a wonderful time with my family!
      Rachelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

