Our First Snow at Home

Our back deck covered in snow.

         This past week has been spent trying to catch up from our absence during our last two art show trips, while also enjoying a visit from Wes’ parents. The brushes lie in wait in anticipation of being picked up once again and being carefully and meticulously used to create the next miniature painting. several times I’ve slowly lifted the lid on my palette in the past week to spray my paints, and enjoyed that wonderful,  unique smell of my watercolors that has become one of my favorite smells in life. Tomorrow I hope to begin my miniature for an upcoming small works show at Gallery One. Even though its’ just been roughly three and a half weeks since I’ve last painted, in some ways it seems like months, so as you can imagine I’m anxious to get back in the creative mode.

The beautiful winter view from our back porch.

        After some lovely, milder weather this past week, a winter storm blew in with full force bringing with it amazing winds that took down several beautiful trees in the neighborhood. Leaving behind a scattered path of destruction, it then blanketed our area with a gorgeous snowfall, turning it into a winter wonderland over night! We woke Saturday morning to a very wet snow,  making it quite picturesque as it clings to every tree, delicately following the form of each branch and remaining leaf. A beautiful sight indeed! After a quick lunch at Subway, Wes and I along with his parents, Jeanie and George headed into Cades Cove to enjoy the serene winter setting.

A peaceful stream surrounded by snow in Cades Cove.

         Since Cades Cove had been closed earlier that morning due to bad winter road conditions, it made it fairly empty that afternoon, leaving us to enjoy it without the massive crowds. White-tailed Deer and Turkey were out in great numbers enjoying the quiet, beautiful day, all the while eating. We were able to get several great photos of this lovely setting and there are miniature paintings already planned from this wonderful memory.

George, Jeanie and I on a great hike on the Lumber ridge Trail in the Smokies.

        Earlier this week, the four of us enjoyed a beautiful hike on the Lumber Ridge Trail which is just roughly five minutes from our house. It was a very pretty day blessing us with perfect weather conditions. Wes and I had gone on this hike for my birthday this past summer and really enjoyed seeing it in now the winter, with all of its vast, open views it now offered, with the trees having lost their leaves. It’s always amazing how different a trail looks during other seasons throughout the year.

A really cool looking "Alien Mushroom", at least that's what Wes and I call it.
Beautiful moss diamonds.

        As always, I found several new and interesting mushroom species and an abundance of beautiful, lush green moss, that simply beckoned to be petted. One amazing patch, shown in the above photo, was simply gorgeous with all of its water diamonds glistening in the soft light. It made for another one of nature’s magical moments!

         Please visit our website for information on current exhibits of our miniatures: http://www.artofwildlife.com/exhibitschedule.html

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

2 thoughts on “Our First Snow at Home

  1. Hi Folks,
    That snow scene at Cades Cove looks lovely. I await the miniature. I don’t think we’ll be having snow here in England by Christmas – but you never know. the weather is fickle. I’ve just returned from London visiting an old friend who’s ailing badly. It’s a lovely sunny day so I think I’ll do a bit more to my painting before I go out for dinner. Love from Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      The snow in Cades Cove was indeed very lovely! I’m sure there will be a miniature or two from that wonderful experience. I don’t know if we will get any more snow by Christmas either, but perhaps you will! I do hope that your friend gets better. I am glad you were able to enjoy the sunshine, and hope you enjoyed painting and your dinner!
      Love and Hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

