A Prelude to Spring

A lovely little clump of our Crocuses Blooming.

Spring is certainly right around the corner and so close that one can almost smell it in the air! However, I know this must be quite hard for those of you who are still buried in snow to believe. Although we greatly feel for you, we are quite satisfied at this point to remain “snowless” ourselves. Many of our dear feathered friends are now singing their melodious spring songs, and it livens one’s day to hear their beautiful tunes floating through the air. Several of the trees are also joining in this wondrous calling forth of spring by starting to extend out their brightly colored new growth that will soon grow and unroll opening their little newly formed leaf faces to the sun. What a joyous and beautifully rejuvenating time of the year is Spring!

Click on the above image of Mrs. Shrew to watch their entertaining video on YouTube.

Along with the blooming Crocuses, my precious Shrews have returned as well as Dovecakes! Dovecakes was most delighted to eat 3 large piles of shelled sunflowers one day this past week, almost as delighted as I was feeding her! The Shrews have returned in full force and brought with them a voracious appetite. Two days ago while sitting on a nearby rock, just enjoying the simple act of watching them eat, I was able to capture some great video footage of the little cuties. With Wes’ most appreciated help, we created a wonderful little video of them eating their favorite pecan crunchies and most appropriately put the music from “The Flight of the Bumble Bee” to it, as they act like they are always running a day late for everything! And no . . . the video hasn’t been sped up  🙂  I’m so thrilled to have them back once again as they are such cute and entertaining little chaps!

My gorgeous little Pine Warbler aka PW, waiting patiently for me to finish putting out his peanut crunchies.

We’ve enjoyed absolutely gorgeous weather the past few days, and are we ever thankful for it! It has seemed like a terribly long winter in many ways. Our daily walks are always nicer when there are blue skies above and the warmth from the sun is enveloping you. Even with the beauty outside, many productive hours have also been spent in the studio working on paintings. I finished my miniature of my little chicken friend, Whitey, this past week. Wes is currently putting the finishing touches on his painting of a Maribou Stork, but I thought I’d go ahead and share it with you.

"Whitey at Days End" by Rachelle, measures 3 1/4 X 3 1/4 inches.

"Resting Maribou Stork" by Wes, measures 3 1/2 X 4 1/2 inches.

On our easels: I’m currently painting on a miniature of House Sparrows nestled on the edge of nicely angled roof line of a lovely old house that is adorned with golden-colored dormers. Wes is putting his finishing touches on his Maribou Stork painting while he’s also painting on a piece of a beautiful little Tiger beetle. Both paintings should be done by next week at which time I’ll share them with you.

Last evening I had a delightful chat on the phone with my little nephew Tyler. We talked of such things as what various animals said such as “mooooo”, “bock bock” and “oink oink” and about his colors, especially yellow, that he’s learning, as well as his enjoyment of digging in the dirt. He also expressed his great love for my brother Marshall’s homemade BBQ sauce, by telling me “sauce” over and over again in his precious little southern accent. Obviously, I wear a smile on my face for several hours after these most precious phone conversations between myself, Aunt “No No”,  and  little Tyler 🙂

Wishing everyone signs of spring!!

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

4 thoughts on “A Prelude to Spring

  1. Whitey and the Stork are both so lovely, and intriguing to look at – yours because of your signature lighting, and Wes’s because of the color details he always excels at. You both have such very different styles. Do you ever critique each others’ works? I know in our house, my family are always my most honest critics, and I think they help me to improve. Great job!

    1. Hi Deb,
      Thank you! Yes, our styles are quite different, and yes we critique each others work all of the time. When one of us thinks we have just about finished a painting then we let the other one look at it. It’s amazing sometimes how something will jump out at the person critiquing, that the other one had simply overlooked or just wasn’t sure about. It’s very nice to have family critique as they are completely honest 🙂
      Rachelle

  2. There is some hope again for Spring!! I have not been checking out your blog so here I am again!! Not painting but still working with the arts. Getting classes and still hoping for a International Miniature Show!
    Have a great day Wes and Rachelle!!
    Jim

    1. Hi Jim,
      Yes, thankfully there is! Hope you enjoy it when you get back to your painting again, and glad to hear that your working with the arts. I too hope you have a great day and enjoy signs of spring soon!
      Rachelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

