Wow . . . has it been 20 years already?


Wes and I on the happiest day of our lives!

Yes . . . it will be 20 years! This coming Wednesday, Wes and I will celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary! I can’t believe it, as it sometimes seems like just yesterday that we began this life long journey together. As I look back through our wedding photo album, the memories come alive once again, and I’m truly amazed at how very blessed we were to have such a wonderful picture perfect wedding day, that lasted for several days really, surrounded by all of our very dear family and friends celebrating with us! Thankfully, the blessings have followed us through the past 20 years while making so many wonderful memories together, and moreover becoming closer and even more so the best of friends, all the while! Life is truly wonderful when you have your best friend, by your side, holding your hand, and smiling with you through this journey we call life!    🙂

A sculpture made for us! We're in the sculpture garden at the New Orleans Museum of Art.

I continue to remain “on call” for assistance in the feeding of several hungry baby birds in our yard. Presently there are 6 baby Carolina wrens between two sets of parents. We also have 3 young Doves at various stages, as well as a few remaining young Titmice. Peedeepeeps, the Wren, continues to join me for breakfast at the table on the top deck, most mornings. Usually the baby isn’t too far away, eagerly awaiting having his squeaking, little beak crammed with peanut crunchies. We were also quite happy to see Vicious, the Black Snake, in the backyard today looking as handsome as ever, while in hot pursuit of a poor unsuspecting Skink Lizard. And yes, the Skink got away . . . this time. Although the shrews haven’t made an appearance in a bit, Mr. Vole continues to enjoy his share of nut treats. One of the wrens’ favorite places is on my rocking chair on the back deck. They sit there many times, when I’m in the kitchen, looking in the back door at me as if to say “Well, where’s our peanuts?”

Peedeepeeps enjoying the sun on my rocking chair.

On a “spur of the moment” type thing this past Thursday, we decided to grab a Subway sandwich and go into Cades Cove for a picnic. What a treat it was as it had finally cooled off a bit making everything seem nicer! After supper we enjoyed a nice walk up a trail leading to Russell Field. We walked for about half an hour along a stream lined with moss and Rhododendrons in bloom, while passing a horse camp at one point. No one else was on the trail affording us a quiet, peaceful walk. We then drove around the loop road in Cades Cove until cutting across on Hyatt Lane and circling back. One bear and several deer were the visual treats of the evening! I actually got goose bumps on the ride back home with the windows down in the cool air.  It was so nice, since I haven’t had them in a while with it being so hot.

A pretty little spot in the stream along the path leading to Russell field.

On the easels; I’m continuing to paint on a commission of a wonderful miniature of Reni’s “Michael the Archangel”. And what fun I’ve had doing this miniature thus far! It’s been exciting to paint with his same vibrant use of colors and a great learning experience it has been as well. While working on this one, I have to remind myself to take breaks and thus pull myself away from it, while not being able to wait to get back to painting on it! I’ll share it with you once again when it’s completed.

"Michael the Archangel" (in progress), after Reni's, by Rachelle.

Wes has just finished his beautiful and vibrant miniature painting of the “Vulturine Guinea Fowl”. It was painted from a photo taken at a zoo a couple of springs ago.

"Vulturine Guineafowl" by Wes, measures 2 x 2 3/4 inches.

I’m very excited and pleased to announce yet another museum venue has been added to our list of exhibitions! The beautiful Rolling Hills Wildlife Adventure will be hosting “The World of Nature in Miniature: Paintings by Wes and Rachelle Siegrist”, produced by David J. Wagner. The show will be exhibited in the Earl Bane Gallery at Rolling Hills Wildlife Adventure in Salina, KS and will run from Saturday, September 4 through Sunday, November 28, 2010. This exhibition will feature 50 of our miniature paintings of wildlife drawn from our book The World of Nature in Miniature: Paintings by Wes and Rachelle Siegrist. The exhibition will also include an additional 20 of our miniature paintings currently available for purchase. (70 paintings total in the exhibition). So if you’re in that area, we hope that you will be able to go enjoy and receive inspiration from this exhibition of some of nature’s most beautiful things.

click here to visit their website.

While also continuing to paint, we’re hoping to enjoy our anniversary with a bike ride around Cades Cove early Wednesday morning. Then in keeping with tradition, we hope to have lunch at our local Pizza Hut since the Pizza Hut in Okeechobee is where we had our very first date nearly 21 years ago! We’re also looking very forward to, and getting ready for, my parents visit starting with their arrival this coming Saturday!

I hope you all have a wonderful week and manage to keep cool!

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

13 thoughts on “Wow . . . has it been 20 years already?

  1. Your one of the few blogs that I actually subscribe to via email. I don’t want to miss anything because I really enjoy your posts and artwork. I had to laugh at myself though when I got this post in my inbox. I saw where it said “a sculpture made for us” and I was like wow they had a scultpture made for them, that is awesome. Then I hit display images in my email and seen it was the Love sculpture.

    Your wedding photo is nice, you guys make a beautiful couple. Happy 20th, may you and Wes have many more happy years together!

    1. Hi Wendy,
      Wow, that makes me feel really good! I’m so very glad that you enjoy it. I apologize for the confusion, but at least it brought you a good laugh! 🙂 We just pretended that it was made for us, as it seemed perfect. It was certainly one of my favorites out of the collections throughout the sculpture gardens.

      Thank you for the compliments and the well wishes! We certainly make a happy couple 🙂
      Rachelle

  2. Bill Mundy

    Twenty Years! Wonderful – and I know how happy you are together. All my best wishesd for Wednesday Wes and Rachelle.
    Love from Bill

  3. Happy Anniversary! Cliff and I are also celebrating our anniversary on July 7th. We got married in Boston at 11:30am 26 years ago. It must be a popular date, because our next door neighbors also celebrate their anniversary July 7th, and our neighbor across the street – it’s his birthday. Cheers to all of us, and here’s to a fun Wednesday!!

    1. Hi Deb,
      Thank you and congratulations to you and Cliff as well!! We were married in the seventh month, on the seventh day – Saturday, at 7 pm, and after we were married, one day I realized that I had 7 little diamonds in my engagement ring! We though this was all very special as it wasn’t planned that way.
      Hope you and Cliff enjoy your special day also!!
      Rachelle

  4. Bill Mundy

    Hi Rachelle and Wes,
    The last few responses I’ve put on your blog don’t appear. I don’t know why. Anyway, again have a truly happy day as you celebrate your 20th anniversary. Love from Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      For some reason your comments were going into the spam filter and I wasn’t seeing them, so we didn’t realize you had left comments until your email arrived. I greatly apologize for that and will have to check my spam filter frequently now, as I don’t want to miss any comments.

      Thank you so very much for the congrats and well wishes! We had a lovely anniversary Wednesday and I will post a couple of photos and stories from our little adventure on my next post this weekend.
      Love and hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

  5. Bill Mundy

    Hi Rachelle, I wondered why nothinbg seemed to get through over the past few weeks. Hopefully this will – just to check that your webmaster doesn’t think that I am a dreadful ‘spammer’. Love from Bill

Leave a Reply

