A Week of Painting

“The niche of miniatures serves the artist and public like no other can. Where can you see an entire collection in one room…or have an entire collection of original Art on one wall?”  Richard William Haynes

"A Little Southern Gentleman" by Rachelle, measures 2 3/4 inches.

Well, I’ve completed my first miniature painting of my nephew, Tyler Jackson, and finished it just today. It was a fun portrait to paint, although sometimes it seems harder to paint one’s family members. Perhaps it’s just a mental block, who knows. Anyway, instead of a simple background, I decided to go with a backdrop more along the style of an old world setting and thought it added to the overall feel of the title, “A Little Southern Gentleman”. It will be interesting to see what he thinks of himself painted in miniature by his “Aunt No No”   🙂

"John Finney" by Wes, measures 2 3/4 by 2 1/4 inches.

Wes finished his miniature portrait of our friend John Finney this past week. He owns and operates a ranch out in Dubois, WY, and we took his photo a couple of years ago while spending time in WY. Wes also finished a miniature painting of a Little Green Heron that we photographed while in Florida last January. We were quite happy to see a beautiful Little Green Heron, while we were sitting by the river, cooling off during one of our bike rides this past week. Right before he landed and started searching for something edible, a gorgeous flock of at least 20 Canada Geese flew in formation along the river in front of us while we were sitting there. It was all quite picturesque to say the least!

"Gotcha" by Wes, measures 2 1/2 X 3 1/2 inches.

On the easels: Wes is starting another portrait miniature, this one is of one of our dear friends, Don Weiser. I myself have yet to start the next miniature, and am not quite sure what it will be. I have a few ideas in mind and am going to see what will seem to work out and inspires me.

Most of this past week has been spent painting. Even with the relentless heat, thankfully we’ve still been able to enjoy a daily walk or bike ride. I must admit that the air conditioned house sure does feel good when we return to it! I hope that you too are keeping cool, while still being able to get out a bit and enjoy the lush green of summer.

Until next time ~ Rachelle   🙂

4 thoughts on “A Week of Painting

  1. Bill Mundy

    Hi Rachelle,
    Your painting of the Archangel is lovely. Vibrant and full of life. I’m sure your client will treasure it always. And like you I need to know that my paintings have good homes. If it wasn’t for the fact that I have to make a living out of art I’d hardly part with anything – especially not the ones I like best,
    Love from Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      Thank you! I’m sure he will to, as he’s as excited about it as I am. I too wish many times that I could afford to keep much of what I paint, and must admit that I have kept a couple 🙂 But as you say, knowing that they are going to great homes helps immensely!
      Love and hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

