Highlights From the SAA and BIA openings

Here are a few photos from our wonderful visit to San Diego, CA, for the Society of Animal Artists 50th exhibition, of which I shared highlights and stories from with you last week. Enjoy!

One of the beautiful Coronado Islands off of Mexico.
Another wonderful view of the island and some of its many inhabitants.
Chris and I prove that great minds think alike, as we showed up for the whale watching cruise dressed in our sailing stripes.
This is where I spent most of my time on the cruise, enjoying the spectacular views.
Wes and I with the Polar bear statues at the San Diego Zoo near the Polar bear exhibit.

The Week in San Diego was wonderful with my favorite day being the one spent on the boat! It was just an all around great day with nothing to do but relax and enjoy the scenery. After leaving the area early Sunday morning Wes and I headed for Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks to spend a couple of days and then went on to Yosemite to enjoy another two days there. I’ll be sharing photos and highlights from our awe inspiring visit to these three amazing parks next week.

Me with my "antennas" with my Hissing Cockroach painting "The Nutritional Expert" at the SAA exhibition in the San Diego Natural History Museum.

We arrived in Wausau, WI Thursday afternoon in time to rest a bit and then enjoy going to the preview of the Birds in Art show at the beautiful Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum that evening. Friday was spent enjoying a lovely luncheon with the other artists and staff at a nearby country club, and then on to the museum to be able to see the show once again and take a few photos. That evening was the gala reception at the museum which was very well attended, followed by a nice dinner with the attending patrons afterward. Saturday morning was spent once again at the museum for the public opening. Afterward, while enjoying a boxed lunch on the bus, we all headed to beautiful Point of Pines and Lake Catherine near Hazlehurs, WI to spend a delightful afternoon there. We had a wonderful hike with naturalist John Bates, seeing several different bird species and walking through a lovely bog area. The gorgeous lush green moss made the bog a highlight of the walk for me.

Wes at the Birds in Art exhibition with his painting "Resting Marabou Stork".

That evening we enjoyed a nice meal with everyone and early Sunday morning it was time to fly home. We had a wonderful two weeks and made a lot of memories, but we both were very glad to be home once again in our quiet and peaceful little home town, Townsend. My feathered and furry friends are also quite glad that I’m home, since I put out food treats first thing when we returned.

A beautiful bog area from our nature walk in Northern WI.

The opening of the 23rd Western Visions Miniatures & More will take place this coming Thursday, September 16, at the National Museum of Wildlife Art in Jackson Hole, WY. My portrait miniature, “Native Splendor”, will be featured and for sale in this show. So if you’re in the area be sure to go see and enjoy the miniature show at this gorgeous museum!

"Native Splendor" by Rachelle, measures 3½ x 2½ inches.

I’m delighted to say that we have yet another museum venue for our exhibition, “EXQUISITE MINIATURES BY WES AND RACHELLE SIEGRIST”. It will be at the beautiful Museum of The Southwest in Midland, TX. The exhibition will open on Friday, June 10 and be on display through Sunday, August 28, 2011. I will share more information on this exhibition and another one at a different museum in Texas as the dates approach.

I hope many of you are enjoying the cooler and pleasant weather that we are at present!

Until Next Time  ~    Rachelle   🙂

7 thoughts on “Highlights From the SAA and BIA openings

  1. Hi Dana,
    Wes figured out how to insert the photo from our fun lunch experience. Yes, I was having a ball with “look . . . sky . . . water, sky . . . water, sky . . . water”, and it was all fun and games until about the fifth time, and that’s when I decided it would be best for me to enjoy my lunch out in the fresh air . . . HA HA! 🙂 I think everyone really enjoyed the boat ride and we enjoyed getting to spend some time with you as well 🙂
    Rachelle

    1. Hi Vicki,
      Thank you very much!! I hope the painting will bring roaches a bit of appreciation and admiration . . . 🙂
      We’re really looking forward to seeing you soon as well! The show will be here before we know it.
      Rachelle

  2. Hi Rachelle, so nice to see this pic of you and Dana and friends enjoying out there. Had to navigate the lanes and loops in my rented car in 2005, so I know what you mean about the traffic, but I love many aspects about San Diego. You packed so much in, did you get to see the view from Cabrillo Point?

    Glad you got to show off “The Nutritional Expert” at this particular venue! Is that an award ribbon decorating Wes’s name tag for his stork ptg.? Congrats on more show venues!

    1. Hi Mona,
      yes, we all had a great time while out there. We did pack a lot in, but unfortunately did not get to see the view from Cabrillo Point, as I’m sure it was lovely.
      I do believe my Hissing Cockroach felt right at home in the Natural History Museum 🙂

      No, that’s not an award ribbon Wes is wearing, but to me he’s always a winner! Thanks for the congrats on the new show venues, we’re quite excited about them all.
      Rachelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

