Who left the freezer door open?

The kids eat up before the cold and snow comes!

Brrrrrrrrr . . . . . . . who left the freezer door open? So much for the mild and delightful temperatures we were enjoying Thanksgiving week, they’re long gone now, and “Baby its cold outside”!! And quite appropriately that very song is playing on the radio at present! A couple of inches of snow fell this afternoon and they’re calling for more to fall during the night, and it certainly has revved up the appetites of all of my feathered friends. Even little Scarlet the chipmunk came out of hibernation today to store up on the sweet feed. And speaking of sweet feed, it has really grown on everyone, and lots of them are enjoying it now, from the Juncos to the Doves! Yesterday at one point, there were at least 8 to 10 Doves on the back porch eating, or trying to get close enough to grab a little too. Once Dovecakes even snuggled down, fluffed up and took a nap while laying in the dish of feed after obviously eating to her heart’s content!

Dovecakes and a few friends enjoys the sweet feed.

After eating, most of the time the doves will all casually walk over to the bird bath and enjoy drinking several big gulps of the fresh water. At one such time this past week, I happened to look out the window, and there were 6 Doves wading in the birdbath and getting drinks! I had just filled it with nice warm water, so the steam was rising from it. Who knows, perhaps they thought it was Siegrist hot springs! P.W., the beautiful Pine Warbler is still coming daily and chirps to me when he sees me out refilling the treat piles. The best part is that he answers, when I give his call to him, and comes down close in hopes to be the first one there for the feast! This afternoon after I had just put out all new food, there were over 50 birds on the rails eating. Peedeepeeps, the Carolina Wren, came and while looking at the mass of confusion, was trying to find a space where he could join in, and it looked like he was thinking to himself, “Good grief . . . this is absolutely ridiculous . . . where did all of these pigs come from!” I couldn’t help but chuckle as I watched him try to jockey into a strategic position!

P.W. scopes out the treat piles below!

Friday of this past week, our dear artist friend, Tricia, came and spent most of the day with us. We enjoyed a fun and delicious lunch consisting of homemade sweet potato bisque, jalapeno cheesy cornbread, and individual chocolate lava cakes with a thin piece of red velvet with cream cheese frosting for dessert. After filling our tummies we enjoyed looking through the new book, “Modern Masters of Miniature Art in America” together. We then showed Tricia the DVD of our trip out to CA for the 50th SAA show and our wonderful visits to Sequoia and Yosemite. Since she had spent 3 months in Yosemite one summer, she really enjoyed “visiting” there again. There was still some time left, so off to the studio we all went to get in a bit of painting time. The day too quickly came to an end and it was time for Tricia to go home. Wes and I then enjoyed a brisk walk down to Pizza Hut where we enjoyed a yummy, hot pizza! Although the walk home was a bit on the cold side, it was beautiful with the faint light of the moon highlighting the surrounding mountain ranges and the one field that we pass on the journey home, with a beautiful old barn in it.

Tricia, me and Wes enjoy our time together at lunch.

Last evening we enjoyed attending one of our neighborhood Christmas parties. We were some of the first ones to arrive, so thankfully that gave plenty of time for me to pet and love on our neighbor’s precious little Yorkie, Lulu, that I dearly love! She was so adorable and dressed to kill, in her little Mrs. Claus outfit! The evening started off with enjoying some edible goodies that everyone had brought, followed by games and a Dirty Santa gift exchange. Happily, one of our sweet neighbors switched gifts with me and I came home with chocolate, so of course I was quite happy!

Lulu and I dressed in the holiday spirit, while Lulu watches for Santa to come.
Lulu dressed in her holiday attire.

Fresh off the easel; we’re still currently working on several different commissions, and shown below, is one by Wes. I’m also sharing our latest progress on the old fort, and the Bobcat that I finished this past week.

2 1/2 x 3 1/2 inches.
The old fort in progress.
The Bobcat finished, is 3 x 4 inches.

Well, since Christmas is just around the corner, I thought you might be starting to gather recipes, so I wanted to share one of my absolute favorites with you. It’s one of mine that I came up with by using parts of different recipes and experimenting a little. It’s delicious and I think you will really enjoy it!

The Best Carrot Soufflé You’ll Ever Eat
2 lbs carrots chopped
1 medium sweet potato peeled and chopped
2 Tbsp butter
1/3 Cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 Cup sugar (splenda, honey, or other sweetener)
3 Tbsp flour (I use white whole wheat)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
3 Tbsp orange juice mixed
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
Cook carrots and sweet potato until tender, for 15 minutes. Drain and pour into a food processor. Add the remaining ingredients and process 30 seconds to 1 minute. Pour mixture into a greased, 2 QT baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes at 350 Degrees. Top with 1/4 to 1/3 cup of chopped walnuts.
ENJOY 🙂

Keep warm!

Until next time ~ Rachelle  🙂

2 thoughts on “Who left the freezer door open?

  1. Bill Mundy

    Hi Folks,
    I loved little Lulu’s Christmas coat. Since I came back from my holiday in Asia I haven’t realyy done too much – but must write a blog this weekend. I’m so absorbed in the painting of the open book and what with preparations for Christmas, maybe I’m becoming a bit lazy. You really do write the best blog of all Rachelle – you deserve a prize. Love from Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      Yes, isn’t that little coat one of the cutest things! Your open book painting is looking great and will be amazing when finished! I’m sure you’re very much enjoying yourself on that one! Thank you for the kind compliment, I’m glad you seem to enjoy it as much as I enjoy writing it!
      Love and Hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

