Big sledding adventures and a miniature painting in progress!

The gorgeous snow covered view from the bottom part of the mountain that we live on.

Well, Wes is finally starting to feel a bit better and has gotten his voice back for the most part. Moreover, the snow still covers the ground in our neighborhood! Fortunately, I was able to take full advantage of the beautiful white stuff and immensely enjoyed sledding in it four mornings in a row this past week! The side driveway worked perfectly this time and after my packing it down by sledding on it the first morning,  it froze that night,  creating a perfect sledding path the next morning! With much of it being ice, I literally flew down the hill, making for an exciting and thrilling ride! By the forth morning, there was an actual louge-like path, that really worked well, making it where you just went along for the awesome ride.  Each time I would come to a stop or crash in the back yard, under the Mulberry tree, the birds would all just look at me like “What in the world are you doing?”, and then would go back to eating or preening, whichever activity they were previously doing.

A view down the road in front of our house.

After making a few exiting trips down, instead of climbing right back up the hill, I decided to take the scenic route to make my way back up. So, I walked around our path through the woods in the backyard, circling up the side yard, climbing up the snow covered dry creek bed and then walking through the garden in the front yard that was dressed in white and with sparkling diamonds everywhere! It was wonderful walking along looking at the many different critter tracks telling a story in the blanket of snow. There were bunny, squirrel and what appeared to be possum and raccoon tracks scattered and leading trails about. Hundreds of tiny bird tracks led everywhere, in circles, and in curving lines, and sometimes ending in a dead end. Occasionally there was what appeared to be what I call birdie snow angels. It’s where the Juncos hop and skip through the snow, flitting their wings in it as they search for edible tidbits here and there, creating these precious little miniature snow angel shapes. During this time, I got the idea of strapping our little video camera to the front of me to make a video from the sledder’s perspective. So we made a sledding video for you to enjoy. This way if you don’t or can’t sled, well, at least you feel like you got to do so after watching this!  So sit back, hold on tight and enjoy!!

We also made a video of a few of the highlights from the MASF show’s opening weekend activities, for those of you who weren’t able to attend and enjoy this amazing show in person.


Fresh off the easel:
As Wes continues to try and get well, I have been able to paint on one of my miniatures this past week, amidst the other jobs I’ve had to do. I‘m hoping to share different miniature paintings in progress with you on a regular basis, since several requests have been made for such. I’m currently painting on a miniature landscape from a photo I took in Yosemite Valley this past September. The lighting in it, which I hope to play up a bit, reminds me of the gorgeous lighting in many of Thomas Moran’s and Albert Bierstadt’s paintings, two of my favorite landscape painters! Hopefully Wes will return to full health this week and be able to enjoy painting once again as well!

Yosemite Landscape, in progress by Rachelle, measures 3 1/2 x 4 1/2 inches.

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

6 thoughts on “Big sledding adventures and a miniature painting in progress!

  1. Rachelle, I hope you are staying well and Wes is feeling better. What wonderful videos, both of them, and thanks for the laughs the sledding video provides!

  2. I’ve never been to Yosemete, but it sure appears you are off to a great start Rachelle! Looks like you had fun on the sleds too. My kids would love where you live. They enjoy snow boarding and snow tubing….We have to drive a ways to enjoy those activities, and you have them right outside your door!

    1. Hi Deb,
      Thank you, I’m having quite a bit of fun painting it! Oh, I had a ball sledding and am already looking forward to the next time of enjoying it! Yes, this year, especially, they would love it here, as we’ve had so much more snow than usual. I would like to try snow tubing sometime. I feel very blessed to have these opportunities right outside my door 🙂
      Rachelle

  3. Bill Mundy

    Hi Wes ans Rachelle,
    Hilarious video of you Rachelle nearly taking off in your sled. No wonder you stay so slim. Glad you seem to be on the mend Wes, I can tell from the commentary that your voice is getting back to normal. I’m back to painting with a vengeance after such a nice week in Florida. Jet lag just about gone now.
    Love from Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      Glad you liked it, I thought it would give everyone a good laugh, and I certainly had a ball while sledding! It is great exercise, that’s for sure! Yes, Wes is doing much better, thankfully. Sounds like you are very busy once again, and I’m glad to hear that the jet lag is about gone.
      Love and hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

