Outside snowing . . . inside painting.

Peedeepeeps enjoys the warmth of the sun!

Critter encounter! . . . Wow . . . I can’t believe it, but I forgot to share my highlight from last week with you! One of the times in which I was walking around the path in the backyard, on my way back up to sled down the hill once again, I heard a rustling in the stick wall as I got close to it. I immediately stopped and peedeepeeps, the Carolina Wren, jumped to a stick jutting out at the top of the wall. There he looked at me very inquisitively, and began chattering to me. So I chattered back, and this conversation, that obviously only he could understand, went on for a bit. Then he looked as if he were about to jump over on my head, and in a flash he sprung over, landing on the rope that was hanging from my sled. He then looked up at me and proceeded to climb the rope, taking in all of the surroundings as he went, until at last he reached my sled, at which point he jumped on to it. There he checked it out and looked as if to say “so that’s what this thing is that you come crashing down the hill on!” Me, excitedly exclaiming to him how he had simply made my day . . . no made my week by this wonderful encounter, then told him that I would go and get some nut crunchies for him, and bring them to secret garden.

Our driveway, alongside the split rail fence, covered in snow.

So after I had gotten a handful of nut crunchies, I returned to secret garden where I promptly placed the pile on the feeding rock. I then decided to just sit on my sled, leaning against the bench behind me. Sitting there in total stillness and surrounded by that amazing quiet that a fresh, thick blanket of snow brings, I sat and waited. In just moments, a great number of birds of an amazing variety returned, descending upon the snow covered ground, landing on the stick wall and nearby tree limbs and evergreen shrubs. Juncos, Robins, Blue Jays, Cardinals and different types of Finches were just some of the birds that were all about me. I just sat there quietly, totally absorbed in this amazingly peaceful setting, in which time seemed to stand still, and I felt very blessed indeed! Isn’t it wonderful that the best things in life are free!

Mr. snowman serves as the jolly front porch greeter.

Fresh off the easel: Well I finished my miniature landscape painting of a gorgeous view from Yosemite Valley this past week, and have started on a couple of other miniature paintings. One is of a great little frog sitting happily in a nice, greenish colored mud hole. The other is of a beautiful, backlit dragonfly that lives at Oak Alley Plantation . . . or at least did when I photographed him. I’m also painting on a duck that appears to be swimming amongst diamonds, with the way the sun is sparkling and dancing on the surface of the water. I don’t normally work on different miniatures at the same time, but I just felt like doing it this way for a change of pace, makes it interesting anyway. Wes finished a miniature of two lovely  Crows that we photographed at Newfound Gap, here in the Smokies. He is currently painting on a miniature consisting of a bunch, and I mean a bunch of pretty colored rocks with a Pica in it, that we photographed while in Rocky Mountain National Park a couple of years ago.

"A View from Yosemite Valley" by Rachelle, measures 3¾ x 4¾ inches
"Two Frosty Crows" by Wes, measures 2½ x 3½ inches.

Well, we still have quite a bit of snow in the front yard, and more is predicted to fall tonight and possibly during the next several nights. So who knows, there could be some more sledding in the near future! I know many of you are probably getting tired and weary of the cold weather and snow, but I figure if you can’t beat ‘em . . . then join ‘em! I may as well enjoy it and make the most of it! And besides, I love to sled anyway. I guess it’s like the winter version of the sport of boggy boarding to me, only much, much colder!

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂     P.S. Wes will be 45 this next Saturday!

2 thoughts on “Outside snowing . . . inside painting.

  1. Bill Mundy

    You do have some lovely landscape around you, Rachelle. How can you produce so many paintings, write such a collection of interesting blogs, and zoom around on your sled? It seems I’ll have to have another operation soon as the oncologist has detected a couple of small tumours that escaped from the original tumour eighteen months ago, which have travelled to ny lung. I hope to be able to opt for the Radio Frequency Aplation treatment, rather than the full-blown op. Happy birthday Wes next Saturday. You don’t look a day over 44.
    Love fom Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      Sometimes I’m not really sure, but somehow it just seems to all happen 🙂
      I’m very sorry to hear about the other small tumors. I will certainly keep you in my thoughts and prayers until they’re taken care of and you’re fully recovered! Let’s hope for the lesser of the operations!! I’ll pass the happy birthday wish onto Wes.
      Love and hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

