Almost ready for NatureWorks!

Here comes spring!

Little Scarlet enjoying one of her peanut butter treats.

The first signs of spring are here!! My Crocuses and Daffodils have begun blooming, and what a lovely sight it is indeed! Color is once again sneaking its way back into the otherwise mostly gray landscape and the days are getting a bit warmer as well as the breezes blowing. I know we’re not out of Jack Frost’s reach yet, but thankfully he’s lessening his grip. Wes and I both are getting quite anxious to once again be working out in the garden and flowers, getting dirt under our nails! The down side to this otherwise happy occasion though, is that many of my feathered friends have moved on, and have started their spring journey to other locations. The Juncos have left and returned once again to the upper elevations. Needless to say the yard seems emptier these days. However, many of our yearlong residents have taken to singing their spring songs, breathing pure life into the air! P.W. my little Pine Warbler is gone now, and I can only hope he returns to me once again next year, filling my winter days with a daily dose of sunshine!

Wes and me setting our display of miniatures at SEWE.

We’ve gotten most of the catch up work done from being away at Charleston for SEWE, and are now about ready for the upcoming show in Tulsa, OK this weekend. We have both been continuing to paint, and I spent a couple of days this past week painting on my commission of the winery. We’ve been enjoying our daily walks and Cocoa, the horse, and I have become friends. Of course the numerous small handfuls of fresh and tender grass helped! I’m thinking some tender carrots will win him as a friend for life! Scarlet, our precious little Chipmunk, has been very busy these past few days collecting seeds out of the squirrel barn for her personal stash. I was sure there was going to be a serious blowout yesterday, when she kept cramming and cramming her cheeks, to what appeared to be way past capacity, but alas, somehow she managed and in a jiffy was back for more!
Our dear friend Linda Kelso was kind enough to send us a couple of nice photos that she took while we were all in Charleston last week, so I thought I’d share a couple with you.

Wes and me with Debra Trent at T-Bonz after SEWE ended.

I’m very excited to share with you the latest addition to our list of museums on the tour venue of our upcoming exhibition that will open at the Dunnegan Gallery of Art in Bolivar, MO, Saturday, April 16th. It’s the beautiful new  Yadkin Cultural Art Center in Yadkinville, NC. We will be attending an opening for our exhibit at this museum and I’ll share the info about it as the date draws nearer.

Fresh off the easel: Wes finished his painting of two Swallowtail Butterflies enjoying a true delicacy for dinner, this past week. The painting was done from a photo that I took on a hike up to White Oak Sinks, which begins not far from our house. I finished a miniature painting that I’ll share next week, and am continuing to paint on my commission of the winery in Italy.

"An Acquired Taste" by Wes, measures 3 3/4 x 4 3/4 inches.
The 16 x 20 winery commission in progress.

We look forward to seeing some of you this weekend at NatureWorks!

Wishing you all signs of spring!!

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

4 thoughts on “Almost ready for NatureWorks!

  1. Bill Mundy

    Hi Rachelle and Wes
    Well I’m back out of hospital – came home last night. Soooo good to be here – albeit a bit weak and in a fair amount of pain. But all that will pass. Now – as you say-here comes spring. My favourire season. Love to you
    Bill

    1. Hi Bill,
      Oh, I’m so glad to hear that you have returned home and that all went well! I’m sure it is quite wonderful to be home!! I do hope and pray that you recover very quickly and completely. Spring will make you feel better, and should be here before you know it! I wish you a most beautiful one 🙂
      Love and Hugs 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

