New Yard Critter and Miniature Paintings

I‘ve just returned from feeding Peedeepeeps and Dovecakes.  Dovecakes especially, was quite hungry and I do think she’ll sleep well tonight with a full tummy.  I’m delighted to say that this past week we had a new visitor in our yard!  It was a beautiful little Red Squirrel, or Boomer, as we call them in these parts.  He was running all over the deck as fast as he could looking for, and occasionally finding, some edible goodies here and there.  His favorite however, was the salt lick.  He went after it as if he’d never had salt before in his life, which I suppose is a good possibility.  I felt so badly that he came before I had a chance to put out all of their treats, so there wasn’t much for him to eat.  I’m hoping he’ll come back again soon, perhaps just after I’ve put out lots of nut and seed treats.  This is really interesting as usually red squirrels are found in higher elevations.  Another bit of great news  is that we heard the shrews fussing somewhere in secret garden yesterday afternoon.  This is wonderful to me, so I’ve been placing a few nuts in strategic places to see if they’ll start coming to eat once again.  We’ve certainly missed their presence this past year, and are simply delighted to have them back!  It’s just so nice to be able to be out enjoying the yard and outdoors again.  We were even able to enjoy our supper out on the back deck tonight!

"Birds and Art" by Rachelle, measures 3¾ x 3½ inches.

Fresh off the easels: This past week I finished a miniature painting of a sparrow nesting in the beautiful sculpted birds that adorn the Capitol Building in West Baton Rouge, LA. It’s such a beautiful and perfect location for the birds to nest, and quite appropriate I’d say. Wes finished his portrait miniature of my little nephew, Tyler, as well.

"Tyler" by Wes, measures 2 x 2 inches.

Wishing all of you cheery spring blossoms!

Until next time ~ Rachelle 🙂

Leave a Reply

