Peedeepeeps Babies Made Their Debut

“When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.”
~ John Muir

baby carolina wren photo

Peedeepeep’s babies on their first morning out of the nest

We certainly enjoyed a single moment in nature one morning this past week, when I looked out the bedroom window, and there a mere two feet from me, nestled snugly and safely in the middle of the holly bush, were my wren’s, Peedeepeep’s, five precious babies! I was thrilled to see them all sitting there, and to be able to watch several times as Peedeepeeps brought tasty little insect treats for them, and all five mouths opened wide in hopes it was their turn for some nourishment. After one such feeding, the recently fed baby took a big stretch and suddenly found himself swinging from the limb upside down! Clumsily he worked until he had righted himself, and then gave a little shake, as if he was shaking the entire embarrassing incident off! They appeared so very soft, and I could only imagine what a delight they would’ve been to hold! Sometime later, I returned to have another look at them, and they were all gone, as if it was a dream and had never really happened. Fortunately I got a couple of photos of them and although not the greatest, as our little cameras don’t like working in low light situations, it reminds of a precious moment in time and nature.

baby carolina wren photo

Certainly exceeding the cuteness factor!

We had another baby dove fledge this week, although his parents are currently doing a great job of keeping him safely hidden, and we haven’t seen him in a couple of days. The older baby, we affectionately call Babycakes, is coming throughout the day to the corn feeders on the back porch, and several times has eaten with us, while we’re enjoying a meal on the porch. Dovecakes comes most mealtimes and I think enjoys eating with us almost as we do with her! The Cardinals have built a nest in the yard this past week, as well as a pair of Wood Thrushes, which thrills us, as they fill the yard, and house when the windows are open, with their peaceful melodious song! I’m sure there are more nests tucked away in some of the evergreens that we are not aware of too. I’m very happy to say that the shrews are doing well and seem to have inhabited the entire yard, as we hear them throughout and occasionally see them race across the path when we are walking. There are several “shrew doors” where I place a few peanuts for them when walking along our path.

photo of blooming wisteria

The Wisteria on our back porch is delighting us daily with its beauty!

While out on the porch feeding Dovecakes one morning, I had a friendly Titmouse that spotted the small plastic container in my hand, containing the special seeds that I feed Dovecakes. He flew over to the gutter directly above me and swooped down almost landing on my head, then swirled around coming close to my shoulder, before flying over to the nearby handrail. Then he flew down quickly lighting on my foot and causing my robe to blow a bit with the wind from his wings. He then shot up, hovering in front of my face again before starting this aeronautical ballet act all over again. I stood, as still as I possibly could in hopes that he would come in for a landing and a treat, but alas he never did. I’m keeping my hopes up for next time though, and will try to have a few in hand! Another morning this past week, we enjoyed watching our resident Pileated Woodpecker, we call “Log buster”, for obvious reasons, go from old rotted log to log, listening, then driving his strong bill into just the right spot, sending chunks of wood flying into the air, until he found what he was looking for, a big fat juicy grub worm, which he quickly devoured before searching for the next one!

photo of pileated woodpecker

Log Buster taking a sort break!

I received this past week my new “Simple Shrug” sweater from the clothing company Fresh Produce, and simply love it! All of their clothing is made in the USA, and I found this casual, feminine sweater to be well made and very comfortable. I really like the details of the ruffled edges along the trim and sleeves, and find it nicely compliments several different outfits. Check out their website, Women’s Cardigan, Casual Clothes, and Casual Fashion, for a nice variety of clothing options. Fresh Produce now ships to over 200 countries, so women outside the US can enjoy the colorful styles, too!

fresh produce simple shrug photo

Me in my pretty “Simple Shrug” from Fresh Produce

Fresh Off the Easel: As an artist, things inspire you, and you want to paint them, and such was the case with my Easter suit. I thought the intricate pink flower print would make for a wonderful miniature painting, and must admit that I’ve also wanted to paint a string of pearls, thus I painted my miniature portrait, titled “Me”. Now I’m painting on a small painting of a beautiful sunlit Raven, for the upcoming Western Visions show this fall. Wes finished his miniature painting of an adorable Meerkat this past week, and it is slated to be sent to the RMS show in England.

portrait miniature painting

“Me” by Rachelle
2¾ x 2¼ inches

miniature painting of a meerkat

“The Termitenator ” by Wes
3½ x 2½ inches

~ Upcoming Events and Exhibitions of Our Paintings This Week ~

~ 21st International Miniature Show at the Seaside Art Gallery in Nags Head, NC. This show opens April 28th and runs through June 2nd. Miniatures are displayed in the gallery, as they arrive, so are some miniatures are already on display including ours.

Up Against the Wall Gallery, Kingsport, TN – This gallery has over a dozen of our paintings on display!

Miniature Artists of America Traveling Exhibition – At the MasterWorks of New Mexico Fine Art Show, Expo New Mexico, Expo New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

Blossom II: Art of Flowers at the Greenacres Arts Center, Cincinnati, OH

51st Society of Animal Artists “Art & the Animal” Exhibition at the Appleton Museum of Art, Ocala, FL

Art of the Dive: Portraits of the Deep at the Wildlife Experience, Parker (Denver), CO

To view all our many exhibits: http://www.artofwildlife.com/exhibitschedule.html

“Collect the future’s history today while it is still affordable.”

Until next time ~ Rachelle

4 thoughts on “Peedeepeeps Babies Made Their Debut

  1. Rachelle, I thoroughly enjoy you taking me through your garden and visiting with your precious critters. The little peepedeeps are so sweet. It makes me feel squishy inside. It always brings a smile to my heart when I see your work as well. Happy spring, my friends.

    1. Hi Karryl,
      I’m so very glad that you enjoy walking through our flower gardens, and visiting my feathered and furry friends with me! Aren’t those babies absolutely adorable! I wished so badly that I could’ve held them all, but you already know that 🙂
      Happy Spring to you as well 🙂
      Rachelle

Leave a Reply

