New Miniature Paintings and the World in Black and White

“I once had a sparrow alight upon my shoulder for a moment, while I was hoeing in a village garden, and I felt that I was more distinguished by that circumstance that I should have been by any epaulet I could have worn.”
~ Henry David Thoreau

photo on back deck

     Throughout life, each one of us experience certain encounters, which bring us joy and simply put, makes our day. I had one such encounter this past week while sitting on our back deck, enjoying my mid-afternoon snack. I was contentedly sitting in my beloved rocking chair, when the Tinymouse family, as I call them, or Titmouse family as you would recognize them, came to visit. Along with this lively family came several other birds as well, to eat the abundant peanut crunchies, get drinks and refreshing baths.  So needless to say, I sat still . . . very, very still.  Well, the Titmice started landing on the swing chair beside me as well as on the handrail to my left. So I closed my eyes to make sure I wouldn’t blink thus possibly scaring them, and just sat quietly while listening to them flitting about. I could feel air blowing my hair and on my shoulder, when all of a sudden, one of these sweeties started playing with and pulling on my hair. Then he flew up and landed on my head for a second or two before returning to the back of the chair, where he commenced to playing with and pulling on my hair once again! It was so sweet and amazing, that alas it was hard to not laugh out loud with glee! This went on for several minutes,  as I sat there feeling like Snow White, before what seemed like a dream was over and they left!  Needless to say, this encounter made my week!
There’s been a lot of painting going on in our studio this past week. However we still made time each day to ride bikes or go for a walk, even though it has been most hot and humid. Thankful for the shade we now have in our yard, we also enjoy most meals on the porch while we enjoy watching our feathered and furry friends. We also enjoyed watching a couple of the old black and white movies a few evenings, and they reminded me of my adoration for black and white photography. So for something with a different twist, I decided that we should take a look at nature through a black and white lens, so I hope you’ll enjoy this amazing colorless journey through our     gardens. . . .

photo of a coneflower bloom

photo of ruby-throated hummingbird

photo of a monarch on a coneflower bloom

flower garden photo

flower garden photo

photo of trumpet vine flower

photo of lichen covered rock

photo of trumpet flower

photo of bunny

photo of mushrooms

Fresh off the easel . . . I finished a miniature of the beautiful statue of Jesus in front of the St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans, LA. In the miniature painting, the statue has a precious Mockingbird sitting on one of the hands, thus the title “In His hand”. The statue is missing a thumb and a finger on one hand. It happened when Hurricane Katrina took down two immense live oak trees, one on each side of the statue. The falling trees broke the forefinger and the thumb off the hand, but the statue remained standing. Although relief workers found all the missing pieces, the Archdiocese decided not to repair the statue until the city is once again whole. I also finished a miniature painting of a Coyote enjoying the shade from a Saguaro Cactus which I photographed while at the beautiful Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum. Wes finished a miniature painting of a Gila Woodpecker which was also photographed while we were in Saguaro National Park.  His second miniature painting is of a beautiful flamingo which we photographed during one of fun visits to a zoo.

miniature painting of Jesus statue

“In His Hand” by Rachelle is
3⅛ x 2⅛ inches

miniature painting of a coyote and cactus

In the Shade of the Saguaro” by Rachelle is
2½ x 3½ inches

miniature painting of a gila woodpeacker on a cactus

“Gila Hangout ” by Wes is
3⅝ x 3⅝ inches

portrait miniature painting of a flamingo

“Portrait in Pink” by Wes is
2¾ x 2¾ inches

~ Events and Exhibitions of Our Paintings This Week ~

EXQUISITE MINIATURES BY WES AND RACHELLE SIEGRIST at the Nevada State Museum, Carson City, NV (Fifty of our miniature paintings are on display and available for purchase!)

6th Annual Miniature Fine Art Show at Artistic Designs Gallery in Brownsburg, IN

To view all our many exhibits: http://www.artofwildlife.com/exhibitschedule.html

Until next time ~ Rachelle

 

4 thoughts on “New Miniature Paintings and the World in Black and White

    1. Hi Beth,
      I’m so glad you enjoyed my story, it was an amazing encounter! That’s so neat about your mom! I too hold the peanut crunchies in my hand and the Carolina Wrens come and eat out of it.
      Rachelle 🙂

  1. Jan Borgner

    What a wonderful encounter, Rachelle! The paintings are lovely, looking forward to seeing some of them up close and personal in October!

Leave a Reply

