The Annual Exhibition of the Royal Society of Miniature Painters, Sculptures and Gravers

Portrait Miniature Paintings
Four of our portrait miniatures featured in the RMS Exhibition in London

The opening of the Annual Exhibition of the Royal Society of Miniature Painters, Sculptures and Gravers will take place this week, at the beautiful Mall Galleries in London, England. Wes and I will have ten miniature paintings that will be exhibited in this prestigious show. If only the two of us were as small as our miniature paintings, we would’ve packed ourselves into the boxes as well, and been there to enjoy attending the show in person! We have finally caught up on everything after returning from our trip to NJ for the SAA opening at the lovely Hiram Blauvelt Art Museum. Although most days this past week have been overcast, we have still enjoyed our daily walks and bike rides around Townsend, especially the day the sun came out and was accompanied by the brilliant blue, clear fall sky! The leaves are really starting to turn here in the Smoky Mountains, and the leaf peepers are pouring into town. The color in our own yard is really starting to glow and will probably reach its peak in color sometime during this next week.

photo of fall foilage

Me with two of our large Mulberry Tree leaves

photo of fall foilage

The lovely view from our destination bridge on bike rides.

Much of our time this past week has been spent painting on our miniatures. Even with the temperatures dropping now, I’ve still enjoyed eating my breakfast on the back porch several mornings this past week, while enjoying visits from all of my feathered friends coming to eat with me! However one morning, a most unusual thing happened. As I sat quietly eating and reading, I heard a thump, and I quickly looked to see that one of my precious hummingbirds had fallen from its feeder, landing on its back with both feet stuck straight up in the air! “Oh No” I thought . . . as my heart suddenly sank, as I thought this beautiful jewel of the skies had died. I quietly and slowly got up and started making my way over to where this little beauty lay still, looking so small and pitiful. However as I approached closer, it quickly flipped over onto its feet and after walking a few steps like a bat across the deck, it flew over to the nearby Carolina Jasmine. Still stunned from this unbelievable unfolding of events, I realized immediately that it was indeed okay, as it started fussing at Chippy the chipmunk, who was obviously getting into its personal space. I simply cannot express how relieved I was that my precious little friend was okay and flew off, and of course I came in immediately to relay to Wes what I had just witnessed.

grasshopper photo

One of our lovely resident grasshoppers soaks up the warm sun

Fresh off the easel: I finished my commissioned portrait miniature and will share it after the surprise. I also began painting on a miniature of a gentleman shooting an old antique rifle during our visit last fall to Old Salem near Winston-Salem, NC. The painting will be one of the miniatures on display while our traveling exhibition “Exquisite Miniatures” will be exhibited at the beautiful Yadkin Cultural Arts Center in Yadkinville, NC. November 15 – December 22, 2012. Wes has been working on a series of new butterfly paintings and also finished a White-headed Woodpecker that we spotted in Sequoia National Park when visiting there.

portrait miniature painting

My miniature painting “Old Salem Shooter” in progress

butterfly painting

Aphrodite Fritillary on Zinnia” by Wes
3½ x 2½ inches

miniature painting of a whiteheaded woodpecker

White-headed Woodpecker ” by Wes
2½ x 3½ inches

Come See Our Paintings This Week:

52nd Society of Animal Artists “Art & the Animal” Exhibition at the

Hiram Blauvelt Art Museum, Oradell, NJ

10th Biennial Kentucky National Art & Wildlife Exhibit

October 13 – November 29, 2012: The Henderson Fine Arts Center, Henderson, KY

The Annual Exhibition of the Royal Society of Miniature Painters, Sculptors and Gravers

October 16 – 28, 2012: The Mall Galleries, London, England

To view all our many exhibits: http://www.artofwildlife.com/exhibitschedule.html

 Have a loved one or a beloved pet you would like captured in miniature? Contact and commission us!

Quote for the week . . .

How beautifully leaves grow old.  How full of light and color are their last days.” 

~John Burroughs

Don’t forget to “Sign Up” to receive an email each time I update the blog!

Until next time ~ Rachelle

Leave a Reply

