A Big Apple Harvest and New Paintings!

carolina wren photo
My precious wren loves the sun as much as I do!

After such delightful summer weather, week before last, this past week has tortured us with very warm, and extremely muggy weather, served up almost daily with thunderstorms! Although we’re personally not enjoying it in the least, my Spanish Moss, which I brought home from Florida is absolutely loving it! I must say that the birds too are enjoying the sun, well . . . at least they seem to be. It seems that every time I look out of a window, I see one of my feathered friends lying over with feathers spread in every direction, while soaking in the rays of the sun shining above! Sometimes even while eating, my wren friend Peedeepeeps, suddenly stops, and lists heavily to one side, spreading out all of his feathers, while his head hangs over, almost appearing as if his neck has been broken! He sits like this for several minutes, until he must surely feel like he is going to spontaneously combust, at which time he pulls himself together and carries on with his eating. Needless to say, I have seen this time and time again this past week, with the Mourning Doves, Titmice, Blue Jays and Cardinals and also joining in on this impressive sunning ritual.

photo of Mourning Dove
Both Doves get in on the sunning action!
photo of Mourning Dove
Dovecakes enjoying the sun

We have been getting our daily walks in earlier in the morning, and spending the remainder of the day painting and doing other inside jobs. The hillbilly hot tub continues to be an afternoon treat several days throughout the week as well. Wes also harvested our apples this past week. He filled three 5 gallon buckets with the apples off of the one tree! They’re a nice, tart apple, much like a Granny Smith, making them perfectly delicious as cooked apples or for use in other apple desserts. Besides that, Wes and I love eating them fresh as an afternoon snack! Having so many of them, and with bad spots being in a good part of them, we cut some up and cooked them, making homemade applesauce. Well I found a recipe on a website called Food52, and I must say it was scrumptious and a huge hit with our neighbor friends during our card party last Thursday evening!! It turned out looking so beautiful that I just had to take a photo of it to share with you. I used our homemade applesauce in it, which I’m sure added to its delectable taste as well! While I’m on the subject of food, our neighbor friends, Paul and Norma, gave me a bag of fresh okra this past week. Wow, was I ever thrilled to get this treat, as I absolutely LOVE fried okra and plan on making it tonight! The best part is that Wes doesn’t really care for this amazing Southern gourmet delicacy, so I get to eat most of it myself. A little self-indulgent I know, but at times like this . . . it’s truly okay!

apples
A proud Wes with his apple harvest!
Applesauce Cake
My scrumptious Applesauce Cake . . . YUM!
card game
I just had to take a photo, since the girls won Canasta with a record number of Canastas!

In the miniature art world, we’re very excited about our Solo Touring Exhibition, EXQUISITE MINIATURES, opening this weekend at the beautiful Kenosha Public Museum in WI! Wes and I will be there in person in October and I will share more info about that with you as the time draws nearer. We’re also very excited that all four of our miniature paintings recently sold during the small works show at the Trailside Gallery in Jackson Hole, WY!

Fresh off the easel ~ I finished my miniature landscape painting of Yosemite Valley this past week, and Wes finished a painting this past week of a Pygmy Hippo, showing off its teeth and big, pink tongue!

Miniature Landscape Painting by Rachelle Siegrist
“Grandeur in Yosemite” by Rachelle
Hippo painting
“Bad Breath” by Wes

~ Opening this week: Our Solo Touring Exhibition, EXQUISITE MINIATURES! ~

Saturday, August 10, 2013 – Sunday, January 5, 2014

KENOSHA PUBLIC MUSEUM, 5400 First Avenue; Kenosha, WI, 53140
(262) 653-4140

kenoshapublicmuseum

A public reception will be held on Friday, the 18th of October from 6-8PM. (We will be leading a Gallery Walk that night to discuss our paintings in the exhibition) Also scheduled will be an adult painting workshop with us from 9AM to Noon on the 19th followed by a formal presentation by Wes on miniature art at @2PM. To register for the workshop please call Nancy Mathews at the museum at 262-653-4140.

 

To view all our upcoming exhibits: http://www.artofwildlife.com/exhibitschedule.html

 

 Have a loved one or a beloved pet you would like captured in miniature? Contact and commission us!

Don’t forget to “Sign Up” to receive an email each time I update the blog!

Until next time ~ Rachelle

 

Leave a Reply

