Back At Our Easels In A Rainy Holiday Season

snow in the smokies
Another beautiful shot of the snow from Thanksgiving week!

I must say that after the flurry of activity with being gone much of last month, traveling to our shows, and then doing lots of fun stuff while Wes’ parents were visiting Thanksgiving week, this past week has seemed rather a bit . . . well boring. It’s almost as if we sat here and scratched our heads, thinking “Now what do we do”. Well, what we did was after I put up my Christmas decorations, we began painting again, and Wes has also spent many hours framing paintings to be sent to various exhibitions. We also started back our daily routine of taking walks, and with a couple of days of milder temps, we actually got to ride bikes! I even got to wear shorts and a tank top one day . . . in December! The entire time I was thinking “Now, this is sweet!” The last four days have brought us cloudy skies and scattered showers . . . Ugh. I would gladly trade in the rain for snow, since somehow then the cold seems delightful and to be a blessing!

funny squirrel photo
I decided Chestnut needs to wear a shirt reading . . . “Caution wide load!” Ha Ha!

I have also been quite busy keeping all of my feathered and furry friends fed and happy, and this means feeding Peedeepeeps, my Carolina Wren, meal worms a couple of times every day, which our friends Fred and Barb are kindly sharing with me. He’s decided my hand is a warm retreat, so he will sit there for several minutes while I keep serving up another worm with my free hand. Then sometimes, he contentedly sits there a bit longer, before deciding to leave, which of course I don’t mind at all! When he flies off, with a worm to go in his beak, he flies directly into the artificial Christmas tree that remains on our back porch all year, for added privacy and as cover for the birds, especially in the winter. He loves to wiggle his way up through the branches and then sit on the end of a branch, as if he’s pretending to be an ornament, and a lovely one at that! One day this past week much to my delight, Stubb’s my Tufted Titmouse, returned and enjoyed eating mouthful after mouthful of peanut crunchies, while I fed Peeps his worms! Needless to say, I was in my seventh heaven!

carolina wren on christmas tree
My beautiful living tree ornament . . . notice the fat crop full of worms!

Christmas has come to our house, and we’re enjoying our lovely Christmas tree and other decorations I put up about the house. The tree really looks beautiful during the evening on these short winter days, bringing light and joy to the interior of the house! My newest addition this year is a Charlie Brown Christmas tree. Personally being a big fan of Snoopy and especially the Charlie Brown Christmas show, I have wanted one of these trees for quite sometime, so I was delighted when Wes’ Mom picked up the boxed tree and said “I’m getting this for you”, while we were shopping one day week before last! It now sits in the middle of our dining room table, where it looks quite lovely and much loved.

victorian christmas tree
My beloved Christmas tree . . . my one “sculpture” of the year!
charlie brown christmas tree image
My precious Charlie Brown Christmas tree
victorian christmas tree
 Grandpa made the adorable wooden reindeer at the bottom of the tree for me many years ago.

Fresh off the easel ~ Wes finished his miniature painting of a precious Warthog, which was photographed during one of our many visits to a zoo. I’m currently painting a miniature of a Crested Caracara, which I will share with you next week.

warthog painting
“Lovely Warts and All” by Wes

~ You can see our paintings this week at the following museums ~

The Kenosha Public Museum, Kenosha, WI; The Allentown Art Museum, Allentown, PA; The Harvey County Historical Museum, Newton, KS and The WaterWorks Art Museum, Miles City, MT.  We also have work on display at galleries and exhibitions in Brownsburg, IN; Kingsport, TN; Chambersburg, PA; Sidney, MT; Kingston, PA; Lexington, MA and Bethesda, MD!

To view all our upcoming exhibits: http://www.artofwildlife.com/exhibitschedule.html

Immortalize your loved one or a beloved pet in miniature!
Contact and commission us to create your own special painting!
Don’t forget to “Sign Up” to receive an email each time I update the blog!

Until next time ~ Rachelle

2 thoughts on “Back At Our Easels In A Rainy Holiday Season

Leave a Reply

