Back to WonderWorks!

WonderWorks . . . Wonderful Time!”

By Rachelle Siegrist

wes and rachelle siegrist and kit gentry at wonderworks

Kit and I hold up the crumbling building, while Wes and Barb hold up her head!

Boy . . . did we ever have a great time this past Wednesday afternoon! We left late afternoon and headed over to Pigeon Forge, with friends Fred, Barb and Kit. Our first stop was at a pizza place called Geppettos, located in nearby Wears Valley. Our handcrafted pizzas, cooked in a brick oven were delicious, and gave us all the much needed energy for our destination for the evening . . . WonderWorks! Upon arriving, within minutes we were enjoying the first of the numerous interactive displays. We played with 100,000 volts of electricity and became human lightening rods, with the help of a mesh, steel armor glove, and walked away still alive and able to look up various locations on the huge Google Earth screen. Next Wes and I rode out a 5.3 earthquake in a small café booth, and then Wes, Kit and I survived strong winds in a hurricane tunnel. Then we all took turns feeling the unbelievably icy cold water, which the passengers of the Titanic were subjected to at her sinking.

wes and rachelle siegrist an dkit gentry in a hurricaneWes, Kit and I try to survive the strong winds!

wes and rachelle siegrist in an earthquake

Wes and I ride out a simulated earthquake

With more than a hundred hands-on exhibits, it was hard to choose what to experience next! Kit and I headed over, got suited up in harnesses and climbed our way to the very top of the rock climbing wall, before repelling back down. Then I convinced Wes to ride the Xtreme 360 bike ride with me, in which you pedal to make it go around and around, and the faster you pedal . . . well the faster you go! It was awesome and in the video you can hear me giggling with sheer glee each time we go up and over! Then it was time to “Play Ball”, with Fred and Barb starting off the game, while taking turns pitching to the screen. Wes, Kit and I then took turns pitching, and I think I was the only one who bounced one ball off of the floor and almost pitched two over the screen! There is a reason that I’m not a major league player . . . Ha!

 

rachelle siegrist climbing rock wall at wonderworksKit and I “race” towards the top
siegrists and kit gentry play ballPlaying ball . . . Wes winds up for a pitch, Barb, Wes and I make some baskets, and Kit throws a pitch

After riding a small cycle which you pedal to make the 4-wheeler on the screen go, we all tossed basketballs, trying to get as many in the hoop as we could within a certain amount of time. Having played in the space age section for a while, Wes, Kit and I began our adventure up to the glow in the dark sky walk course, with me leading the way. We climbed 4 stories of ropes, and encountered over 50 different obstacles, including a tremor bridge, tight rope, swinging steps and more, while getting a major adrenaline rush! At the highest point of 50 feet, we conquered our fears while crossing the tight rope and clinging tightly to our harness attached to the steel track above. Eventually we left the high-rise rope challenge, climbing our way back down, with stories to tell!

astronauts at wonderworksPretend Astronauts . . . My hair as “Cousin It”, Barb and Kit

 

rachelle and wes siegrist on skywalk at wonderworksI get my adrenaline fix and goof off with Wes, Kit on the rope course 50 feet above ground!
 

Leaving there we took turns leaving our posed body images printed on the large light sensitive screen, then Kit and I danced like crazy as our movements combined with the light made “living art” on another large screen, complete in a vivid range of colors. Of course lots of laughs could be heard coming from the music-filled room! We made crazy faces in the “elasta-surgeon” screens, and played the relaxing mind game, and made huge bubbles with larger than life bubble wands. Then Wes and I rode the virtual roller coaster, in which you sit in a coaster type car and the front is closed in front of you, which has a big screen on out, showing you the track as you ride. We went from side to side and over and over as we raced along the virtual track! “Whew that was fun!” I exclaimed as we climbed out of the car! Now it was Wes and Kit’s turn to lie on the bed of nails, which the both reluctantly did. Barb and I had done that the last visit there, and I decided once is enough for me with that experience!

rachelle and wes Siegrist take a virtual coaster ride

Wes and I in the virtual roller coaster and what we see while riding it

wes siegrist on bed of nails

Winding our way through the 35,000 square foot space, we came to the Far Out Gallery, showcasing a collection of art that plays with your eyes and your mind! We ended up at the Virtual Army Experience, an exhibit that allow you to sit or stand in a Humvee and test your skills on a virtual battlefield, like a large-scale video game. Wes, Kit and I tested our skills while trying to save our country, and I couldn’t resist saying aloud “Bang . . . got ‘em!” each time one of the enemy was gunned down. Wes later exclaimed how coincidental it was that each time he thought he got the target, I immediately said “I got ‘em!” Guess we’ll never know who got who, but we decided that it was indeed best that the country’s safety wasn’t up to the three of us! All too soon, our evening of adventure was coming to a close, and upon seeing my reflection in a mirror, I told Barb, “Goodness gracious . . . my hair looks like I’ve been through a hurricane and earthquake, and rode a roller coaster!” We left the upside down building having had an awesome evening and taking many wonderful memories home with us!
art work at wonderworks

Wes and Barb check out the Far Out Art Gallery

military ride at wonderworks

“Bang . . . Got ’em!”  Kit and I trying to do our part

war games at wonderworks

Wes really gets into it!

wonderworks building at night

The latest paintings off of the Siegrists’ Easels

Recently I finished my miniature painting of two adorable otters, which we photographed at the Knoxville Zoo.  Currently I’m painting on a portrait miniature commission. Wes finished several paintings recently, of which one “Posing to Please Her” has already sold, I’m thrilled to say!

otter painting by Rachelle_Siegrist1“After the Swim” by Rachelle

Crane painting by_Wes_Siegrist1Posing To Please Her” by Wes

Rhino painting by_Wes_Siegrist1” The Mud Boss” by Wes

Anna's Hummingbird painting by_Wes_Siegrist1Nesting Anna’s Hummingbird” by Wes

Follow us on Facebook!
Until next time . . .
Rachelle

Leave a Reply

