When Squirrels Do Yoga

cute squirrel

The twisted squirrel pose

If you’re like me, you absolutely love watching squirrels! They’re hilarious, and any time I take a few minutes to just sit and watch them, I’m always rewarded with a smile, and many times a good laugh! With camera in hand, I spent awhile yesterday afternoon sitting near the bird and squirrel feeding area, watching them. Whilst seeing them run, jump, hang upside down and twist into bizarre looking poses, I realized that they spend a big part of their lives, exercising, whether it be gymnastics, aerobics or yoga. Having done yoga myself many years now, I began naming the many different poses they were doing and think that the “twisted squirrel pose” is my favorite. It makes me laugh each time I look at it. It’s so bizarre looking and almost appears like the squirrel has an arm growing out of the middle of its back, LOL! 

cute squirrel4

The crouching squirrel pose

They look cute and squishy, but they’re actually a powerhouse of muscle! Can you imagine hanging upside down and holding your entire body weight suspended…with your toes? Moreover, imagine doing that while eating a sandwich! It’s truly incredible when you think about it isn’t it! 

cute squirrel3

The praying squirrel pose

Although squirrels spend a lot of time running about, one of their obvious favorite pastimes is eating! They love to eat, and eat… and eat some more. But when you’re doing life as a gymnast, I guess you need to eat a lot. 

cute squirrel2

The eating squirrel pose

The squirrels aren’t the only furry critter that’s fun to watch in the front yard presently, as there are a couple of woodland voles living beneath the main flower bed. Thankfully they don’t seem to have an appetite for my numerous ferns planted about, but perhaps it’s because they find enough remnant seeds scattered on the ground below the feeders. They’re adorable to watch as they zip out at lightning speed, from a small hole between the rocks, almost appearing as a finger puppet whose operator is on a java high! I enjoy watching them almost as much as the squirrels.

woodland vole

Of course the birds are always a delight to watch and I’m especially pleased to see that some of the goldfinches are getting their bright yellow summer plumage! I quietly cheer them on in their wardrobe change, whilst listening to the raspy sounds of the remaining brown leaves clinging to the wind blown oaks above. It’s amazing how something so small, a few bright lemon yellow feathers, can be such a huge reminder of what’s right around the corner, trees covered in bright green leaves once again. 

songbirds

The wind really picked up while I was sitting there, blowing the feeder sideways and swirling it around in circles. Amazingly two goldfinches clung onto it for dear life, whilst eating the entire time and the one I call the “Ragin’ Cajun”, kept calling out with its’ adorable “Ahhhh-Eeeee” sound, as if it were having the time of its life! I tried to hold my laughter, not wanting to scare them, but alas I couldn’t keep it quietly in, and laughed aloud. But not even that bothered my brave, little Ragin’ Cajun . . . Ha!

gold finches

You may recall a song that says “the boys are back in town“? Well, I’m delighted to say that “the frogs are back in town!” . . . another sign of impending spring!

lithobates leopard frog

Now you may not be an admirer of frogs, but you have to admit that they have gorgeous eyes! 

lithobates

Every few days another variety of wildflower blossoms appears as well, and this past week the dainty little bluets have started blooming.

bluet wildflower

I guess purple is this week’s theme color, as the beautiful birdsfoot violets have also started blooming. Whatever the color, it’s just so nice to see exactly that  . . . color. 

birdsfoot violet

IN THE STUDIO

I finished my painting of our adorable baby Carolina Wrens from last spring. Thankfully, Wes and I were outside when they fledged from the nest in our carport. We got to watch them sitting on the van tires, hopping around nearby, clumsily landing in the bushes and finally ending up safely, tucked into this position against the wall on our front porch while the parents continually tweeted orders throughout the entire process. I titled it “Ball of Babies” and it’s on the way to Picture This Gallery’s 18th Masterpieces in Miniature The Gallery is located in Alberta, Canada and the show opens this coming May. 

carolina wren babies painting by rachelle siegrist

“Ball Of Babies”

SEE OUR PAINTINGS IN PERSON THIS WEEK

Wildlife Wonders: A Juried Exhibition of the Society of Animal Artists
Now through June 9th at The Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum in Tucson, AZ

EXQUISITE MINIATURES is now open at the Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum, Chicago Academy of Science, in Chicago, IL where it will remain on display through June 2nd.

Galleries Currently Displaying Our Work

 Gallery by SEWE, Charleston, SC                           
Picture This Gallery and Framing, Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada (2 paintings)
Up Against the Wall Gallery, Kingsport, TN (3-4 paintings)

visit our WEBSITE  artofwildlife.com     Email us

Until Next Time ~ Rachelle

5 thoughts on “When Squirrels Do Yoga

  1. tom carlsen

    Hi you two – Still love your blogs – especially those of the rugged terrain

    you hike in! We are both well and enjoying ourselves. Tom with Tennis and

    me with exercise classes, swimming, and bocce. How are Fred and Barb

    doing? Paula

    1. Hi Paula,
      I’m so glad you’re still enjoying the blog. We’re hoping to hike in a new location this week perhaps. Sounds like you both are doing very well and enjoying life to the fullest! Unfortunately, Fred is having some health problems, but other than that, I think they’re doing okay.
      You both keep enjoying life!👍
      Hugs 🤗
      Rachelle

  2. dhornekaplan

    adorable baby wrens, my favorite little bird. You did a beautiful job with all the details in their feathers and tiny eyes. ❤️ Happy Spring to you Wes and critters. Love the yoga squirrel analogy 😄

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.