Special Critter Encounters!

“When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.”
~ John Muir

peedeepeeps carolina wren.jpg

I thought it would be fun to revisit a few of my special critter encounters from the past.  After searching, I found several from over the years which I think you will enjoy!

August 2011 . . . “So after bravely trying to get submerged, I finally admitted defeat and jumped on a large float. This actually turned out to be absolutely wonderful, as the ducks suddenly thought of me as one of the flock, and started gathering around. This I found totally thrilling and happily laid there awhile, enjoying seeing them from a duck’s perspective and being part of the group. Then the great idea of feeding them came, and after being tossed down a couple of pieces of bread, I began feeding them while carelessly floating there. Within seconds the two precious babies were there eating from my hand, and I couldn’t have been happier! It was amazing watching them from that perspective as they excitedly took the small pieces of bread from my hand.”

rachelle siegrist swimming with ducks.jpg

May 2013 . . . “The past week has proved to be quite interesting! Tinymouse, one of our little resident Tufted Titmice, which surprisingly landed on my head one evening last week, has done so numerous times again, mainly when I’m sitting on the backporch eating breakfast or supper, and even while I have been walking around in the backyard, and working on my flowers! She obviously wants to add a bit of my curls to her nest, and works diligently at times trying to gather a beak full, while at other times, she simply sits on my shoulder. Needless to say, I definitely have a new hairstylist! Such delight she brings me each time we have this amazing encounter!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

September 2013 . . . “Even though the days are warm, the mornings are still quite pleasant for enjoying my breakfasts on the backporch. Stubbs, my Titmouse friend, and Peedeepeeps, my Carolina Wren friend, almost always accompany me, for part of it anyway. I now have to put out two bowls of peanut crunchies, so they will peacefully eat side by side, each thankful they don’t have to share! While Peedeepeeps is quite a dainty diner, Stubbs approaches his bowl gustily, tossing out the peanuts that do not suit his taste, sending them flying all over the place and sometimes making quite a mess! He eats and eats, until full, at which time he searches for the biggest peanut, carefully gets it placed in his partly missing beak and flies off with what I call . . . “One for the road!” Somehow their visits never cease to delight me!”

tufted-titmouse-eating

April 2014 . . . “I decided to enjoy the beautiful weather outside yesterday afternoon, so I painted out on the backporch. My Carolina Wren, Peedeepeeps, is feeding babies now, so he comes often for mealworms, thus making numerous visits while I was painting, and being quite curious, he had to check everything out while I painted.”

rachelle-siegrist-longhorn-cow-painting-in-progress.jpg

July 2014 . . . “Out of the corner of our eyes, we noticed motion alongside the rivers edge. Quickly we realized that it was three otters, and were quite stunned to be blessed with such an incredible encounter! Thankfully we were in an calm section of the river, so with tubes tied together, we sat motionless, as we were treated to a spectacular show of water ballet! We watched the rising bubbles as the otters swam near us, popping up periodically to check us out. Instantly they would disappear, slipping under the surface and popping up in another location. They took turns climbing out onto the moss-covered bank before diving back in. At one point, all three exited the river and took turns spraying and marking their territory, shaking their backsides at the conclusion each time! “Ha I said . . . that is just hilarious!” Finished with their display of territorial ownership, they dove back into the water and swam a short distance before one climbed out onto a large rock.”

otters in the smokies.jpg


 

 ~ Currently On the Easel ~

Wes and I finished our Tandem Treasure painting of a sweet Sandhill Crane family this past week, and I’m delighted that it has already sold!!!  I’m currently painting on my fly fisherman piece for the upcoming NatureWorks Art Show, as well as the beginnings of my dog commission of an adorable Pomeranian named Izzy.  Wes is getting ready to start an insect painting.

sandhill crane painting by_Wes_and_Rachelle_Siegrist.jpg
“The Lunch Lesson” by Rachelle and Wes
Fly fishing fisherman painting by rachelle siegrist.jpg
My fly fishing painting in progress (shown with my pink fly for scale)

Send Me Newsletters Buttonpainting a dog painting by rachelle siegrist - 1.jpg

~ To Commission A Painting by Us Click Here!

Follow us on Facebook!

Until next time . . .

~ Rachelle

2 thoughts on “Special Critter Encounters!

Leave a Reply

